Maur Constituency

Maur constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 95. Sardar Janmeja Singh Sekhon, who belongs to SAD, is the current MLA of Maur. It is located in Bathinda district of Punjab and comes under the Bathinda lok sabha seat. Here it may be noted that there are total thirteen lok sabha seats and twenty two districts in Punjab.

For a list of other MLAs from Bathinda district, check the following page:
Bathinda MLA List

Maur Election Result 2017

The polling for the current elections is over and a large number of people turned up to cast their vote and used their right to elect the representatives from their area. Now everybody has a question in his mind - Who will win from Maur? To know the answer we have to wait for the counting of votes which will be done on 11th March and the results will be announced on the same day. Let's see who will be the new MLA from this seat. For the state wide election results and list of MLAs, you can check the page Punjab Election 2017 Results.

Voting Percentage in Maur: The total number of votes cast in this constituency during the 2017 elections is 137259 and the voting percentage is recorded at 84.99%, which is higher than the state average of 77.4%.
Voters in Maur - The total number of voters in Maur assembly seat is 161501. The election commission has established 169 polling stations and these polling stations are situated at 110 different locations across this assembly segment.

Maur Candidates

The next assembly elections in Punjab will be held in February 2017. On this page, we have given details of candidates from Maur belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP, BJP and Congress candidates. Some details about these candidates like age, education and contact number is also given here.
AAP Candidate : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Jagdev Singh Kamalu for the coming assembly elections. His age is 54 years and level of education is Matric. The contact number of Jagdev Singh Kamalu is 9463841121. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate : Janmeja Singh Sekhon is the Shiromani Akali Dal (S.A.D) candidate from this constituency. He is 72 years old and his educational qualification is Higher Secondary. If you want to contact him, you can call at 9872540004. He is also a sitting MLA from this constituency. In previous assembly elections, he/she won from this seat by defeating nearest opponent Mangat Rai Bansal of Congress party. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Harminder Singh Jassi as its MLA candidate from this constituency. Some more details about Harminder Singh Jassi are as follows: Age - 61 years, Education - Matric, B.A.. For a phone call, his contact number is 9779039696. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

MLA of Maur - Sardar Janmeja Singh Sekhon

Sardar Janmeja Singh Sekhon is the current MLA from Maur. He is associated with SAD. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the previous assembly elections by winning with a margin of 1388 votes. Mangat Rai Bansal of Congress was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 11-11-1944 at Pakistan. Name of his father is Sardar Gurdit Singh Sekhon. The following table shows some more information about him:

Sardar Janmeja Singh Sekhon
Father's NameSardar Gurdit Singh Sekhon
Date of Birth11-11-1944
Place of BirthPakistan
Name of wifeSmt. Jaswinder Kaur Sekhon
Address63, Jhok Road, Firozpur Cantt.
Educational QualificationHigher Secondary
Study AtRajasthan, Punjab & Kerala

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List