Phagwara Constituency

Phagwara constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 29. Shri Som Parkash , who belongs to BJP, is the current MLA of Phagwara. It is located in Kapurthala district of Punjab and comes under the Hoshiarpur lok sabha seat. Here it may be noted that there are total thirteen lok sabha seats and twenty two districts in Punjab. This assembly constituency is reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates. There are total 34 assembly seats in Punjab which are reserved for SC candidates and only a person belonging to SC category can contest elections from these reserved seats.

For a list of other MLAs from Kapurthala district, check the following page:
Kapurthala MLA List

Phagwara Election Result 2017

The polling for the current elections is over and a large number of people turned up to cast their vote and used their right to elect the representatives from their area. Now everybody has a question in his mind - Who will win from Phagwara? To know the answer we have to wait for the counting of votes which will be done on 11th March and the results will be announced on the same day. Let's see who will be the new MLA from this seat. For the state wide election results and list of MLAs, you can check the page Punjab Election 2017 Results.

Voting Percentage in Phagwara: The total number of votes cast in this constituency during the 2017 elections is 129419 and the voting percentage is recorded at 72.68%, which is less than the state average of 77.4%.
Voters in Phagwara - The total number of voters in Phagwara assembly seat is 178077. The election commission has established 212 polling stations and these polling stations are situated at 127 different locations across this assembly segment.

Phagwara Candidates

The next assembly elections in Punjab will be held in February 2017. On this page, we have given details of candidates from Phagwara belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP, BJP and Congress candidates. Some details about these candidates like age, education and contact number is also given here.
AAP Candidate : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Jarnail Singh Nangal for the coming assembly elections. His age is 43 years and level of education is 10+2 P.S.E.B.. The contact number of Jarnail Singh Nangal is 8968560682. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
BJP Candidate : BJP is having an alliance with Akali Dal and has nominated Som Parkash as its MLA candidate from this constituency. He is 67 years old and his educational qualification is M.A.. If you want to contact him, you can call at 9876100022. He is also a sitting MLA from this constituency. In previous assembly elections, he/she won from this seat by defeating nearest opponent Balbir Singh Sodhi of Congress party. For the complete list of BJP candidates, check this page BJP Candidate List 2017 Punjab.
Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Joginder Singh Mann as its MLA candidate from this constituency. Some more details about Joginder Singh Mann are as follows: Age - 66 years, Education - Faculty of Arts (12th). For a phone call, his contact number is 9855200813. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

MLA of Phagwara - Shri Som Parkash

Shri Som Parkash is the current MLA from Phagwara. He is associated with BJP. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the previous assembly elections by winning with a margin of 14579 votes. Balbir Singh Sodhi of Congress was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 03-04-1949 at Daulatpur, District Nawan Shahr. Name of his father is Sh. Hazara Ram. The following table shows some more information about him:

Shri Som Parkash
Father's NameSh. Hazara Ram
Date of Birth03-04-1949
Place of BirthDaulatpur, District Nawan Shahr
Name of wife
AddressH. No.173, Urban Estate, Phagwara, Distt. Kapurthala
Educational Qualification
Study At

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List