Urmar Constituency

Urmar constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 41. Sardar Sangat Singh Gilzian, who belongs to INC, is the current MLA of Urmar. It is located in Hoshiarpur district of Punjab and comes under the Hoshiarpur lok sabha seat. Here it may be noted that there are total thirteen lok sabha seats and twenty two districts in Punjab.

For a list of other MLAs from Hoshiarpur district, check the following page:
Hoshiarpur MLA List

Urmar Election Result 2017

The polling for the current elections is over and a large number of people turned up to cast their vote and used their right to elect the representatives from their area. Now everybody has a question in his mind - Who will win from Urmar? To know the answer we have to wait for the counting of votes which will be done on 11th March and the results will be announced on the same day. Let's see who will be the new MLA from this seat. For the state wide election results and list of MLAs, you can check the page Punjab Election 2017 Results.

Voting Percentage in Urmar: The total number of votes cast in this constituency during the 2017 elections is 124934 and the voting percentage is recorded at 72.37%, which is less than the state average of 77.4%.
Voters in Urmar - The total number of voters in Urmar assembly seat is 172621. The election commission has established 214 polling stations and these polling stations are situated at 163 different locations across this assembly segment.

Urmar Candidates

The next assembly elections in Punjab will be held in February 2017. On this page, we have given details of candidates from Urmar belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP, BJP and Congress candidates. Some details about these candidates like age, education and contact number is also given here.
AAP Candidate : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Jasveer Singh Gill for the coming assembly elections. His age is 47 years and level of education is 10+2. The contact number of Jasveer Singh Gill is 8556911475. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate : Arvinder Singh Rasoolpur is the Shiromani Akali Dal (S.A.D) candidate from this constituency. He is 67 years old and his educational qualification is Under Matric. If you want to contact him, you can call at 9814418106. In the previous assembly elections, he contested from this constituency from akali dal ticket but lost to Sangat Singh Gilzian of Congress party. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Sangat Singh Gilzian as its MLA candidate from this constituency. Some more details about Sangat Singh Gilzian are as follows: Age - 63 years, Education - 9th. For a phone call, his contact number is 9814225999. He is also a sitting MLA from this constituency. In previous assembly elections, he/she won from this seat by defeating nearest opponent Arvinder Singh Rasoolpur of SAD party. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

MLA of Urmar - Sardar Sangat Singh Gilzian

Sardar Sangat Singh Gilzian is the current MLA from Urmar. He is associated with INC. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the previous assembly elections by winning with a margin of 5511 votes. Arvinder Singh Rasoolpur of SAD was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 12-02-1953 at Gilzian, District Hoshiarpur. Name of his father is Sardar Harnam Singh. The following table shows some more information about him:

Sardar Sangat Singh Gilzian
Father's NameSardar Harnam Singh
Date of Birth12-02-1953
Place of BirthGilzian, District Hoshiarpur
Name of wifeSmt. Jaswant Kaur
AddressVillage Gilzian, PO Miani, Tehsil Dasua
Educational QualificationUnder Matric
Study At

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List