Punjab Govt Holidays 2018 Calendar

Punjab Govt Holidays 2018
The complete list of Punjab Govt Holidays 2018 is given on this page, which is according to the list of gazetted holidays as per the govt notification. According to this list, there are total 21 gazetted holidays during the calendar year 2018 in public offices of Punjab government. Other than these holidays, the offices will remain closed on all Saturdays and Sundays.

Tomorrow Holiday in Punjab

In schools, we always wanted the tomorrow to be a holiday. Although that's not possible everyday, but if you are reading this page on 11th December 2018, then your wish is granted as tomorrow is a holiday in Punjab.
The next government holiday in Punjab is on 12 December 2018 (Wednesday) on the occassion of Guru Teg Bahadur Ji Shaheedi Gurpurab. Shri Guru Teg Bahadur ji was 9th guru of sikh religion. He resisted the forced conversions of Kashmiri Pandits to Islam, so was publicly beheaded at Chandni Chowk (Delhi) in 1675 on the orders of then mughal emperor Aurangzeb. There is Gurudwara Sis Ganj Sahib at the place where guru ji got martyred.
All government offices, schools, offices of boards, corporations and educational institutes in the state will remain closed. You are reading this page on punjab data dot com.
This day is not a bank holiday in Punjab, so all the private and public sector banks in Punjab will remain open on this day.
Year 2019 will start in few weeks from today. For the list of holidays in the new year, check this page - Punjab Govt Holidays 2019
. You may also like the following pages:
Punjab Govt Holidays 2019 Gurpurab 2019 Date
Sangrand Dates 2019
Nanakshahi Calendar 2018

The holidays in state capital Chandigarh are not same as the govt holidays in Punjab. So check this link to know about the holidays in Chandigarh:
Chandigarh Administration Holidays 2018.

Punjab Govt Holidays

The complete list of government holidays in Punjab for the year 2018 is given below. The offices of Punjab govt will remain closed on these days. Punjab Govt Holidays 2018
  1. 26 January (Friday)
    Republic Day
  2. 31st January (Wednesday)
    Birthday of Sri Guru Ravidas Ji
  3. 14th February (Wednesday)
    Maha Shivaratri
  4. 2nd March (Friday)
  5. 25th March (Sunday)
    Ram Navami
  6. 29th March (Thursday)
    Mahavir Jayanti
  7. 30th March (Friday)
    Good Friday
  8. 14th April (Saturday)
    Birthday of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
  9. 14th April (Saturday)
  10. 16th June (Saturday)
  11. 17th June (Sunday)
    Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Arjun Dev Ji
  12. 28th June (Thursday)
    Kabir Jayanti
  13. 15th August (Wednesday)
    Independence Day
  14. 22nd August (Wednesday)
    Eid-al-Adha (Bakrid)
  15. 3rd September (Monday)
    Janm Ashtami
  16. 10th September (Monday)
    First Parkash Purab of Guru Granth Sahib Ji
  17. 2nd October (Tuesday)
    Birthday of Mahatma Gandhi
  18. 10th October (Wednesday)
    Agarsen Jayanti
  19. 19 October (Friday)
  20. 24th October (Wednesday)
    Birthday of Maharishi Valmiki Ji
  21. 7th November (Wednesday)
  22. 8th November (Thursday)
    Vishawkarma Day
  23. 23rd November (Friday)
    Parkash Gurpurb of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji
  24. 12th December (Wednesday)
    Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji
  25. 25th December (Tuesday)
    Christmas day
  26. Birthday Guru Gobind Singh Ji
    Date To Be Decided

NOTE: The festival of Raksha Bandhan or Rakhi falls on 26th August (Sunday). The festival falls on Sunday, so its a holiday. Otherwise it is a 2 hours holiday in govt offices and offices open at 11:00 AM.

Restricted Holidays In 2018

A list of restricted holidays for calendar year 2018 is given below. In the year 2018, government employees are allowed to avail 5 holidays from restricted holidays list, depending upon their personal preference.
Sr. No.Name of Holiday(s)Holiday DateDay of Week
1New Year Day1st JanuaryMonday
2Lohri13th JanuarySaturday
3Basant Panchmi / Birthday of Satguru Ram Singh Ji22nd JanuaryMonday
4Nirwan Diwas of Bhagwan Adinath ji27th JanuarySaturday
5Hola Mohalla2nd MarchFriday
6International Women Day8th MarchThursday
7Shahidi Divas S. Bhagat Singh Ji23rd MarchFriday
8Birthday of Sri Guru Nabha Dass Ji8th AprilSunday
9Lord Parshuram Jayanti18th AprilWednesday
10Buddh Purnima30th AprilMonday
11May Day1st MayTuesday
12Nirjala Ekadashi23rd JuneSaturday
14Death Anniversary of Maharaja Ranjit Singh Ji29thh JuneFriday
15Martydom Day of Shahid Udham Singh31st JulyTuesday
16Id ul Zuha (Bakrid)22nd AugustWednesday
17Birthday of Baba Jiwan Singh Ji5th SeptemberWednesday
18Saragarhi Day12th SeptemberWednesday
19Birthday of Baba Sri Chand Ji18th SeptemberTuesday
20Muharram21st SeptemberFriday
21Anant Chaturdashi23rd SeptemberSunday
22Birthday of S. Bhagat Singh Ji28th SeptemberFriday
23Birthday of Baba Banda Singh Ji Bahadur16th OctoberTuesday
24Birthday Of Sri.Guru Ram Dass Ji26th OctoberFriday
25Birthday of Sant Nam Dev Ji26th OctoberFriday
26Karva Chauth27th OctoberSaturday
27New Punjab Day1st NovemberThursday
28Vishwakarma Day8th NovemberThursday
29Goverdhan Pooja8th NovemberThursday
30Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji9th NovemberFriday
31Martyrdom Day of S. Kartar Singh Sarabha Ji16th NovemberFriday
32Birthday of Prophet Mohammad Sahib (Milad un Nabi or Id e Milad)21st NovemberWednesday
33Jor Mela Sri Fatehgarh Sahib26th, 27th & 28th DecemberWednesday, Thursday & Friday

Bank Holidays 2018 Punjab

There are total 14 Bank Holidays in Punjab in the calendar year 2018. It is important to note that bank holidays are not same throughout the country. The list is issued by the respective state governments according to the directions of Ministry of Finance, Government of India. Punjab government has notified following holidays which would be observed as public holidays according to section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act. Other than these holidays banks will remain closed on all Sundays and also on 2nd/4th Saturdays of each month.
Sr. No.Name of Holiday(s)Holiday DateDay of Week
1Republic Day26th JanuaryFriday
2Birthday of Sri Guru Ravidas Ji31st JanuaryWednesday
3Holi2nd MarchFriday
4Ram Navami25th MarchSunday
5Good Friday30th MarchFriday
6Bank Holiday (Annual Account Closing)2nd AprilMonday
7Birthday of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar14th AprilSaturday
8Eid-ul-Fitr16th JuneSaturday
9Independence Day15th AugustWednesday
10Birthday of Mahatma Gandhi Ji2nd OctoberTuesday
11Dussehra19 October Friday
12Valmiki Jayanti24 OctoberWednesday
13Diwali7th NovemberWednesday
14Parkash Gurpurb of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji23rd NovemberFriday
15Christmas day25th DecemberTuesday

Your Suggestions are welcome Click to Call