Govt Holidays in Punjab 2021

The year 2021 is around the corner and the new year will start in just a few weeks from now. A lot of people, especially govt employees are curious to see the list of govt holidays in Punjab in 2021. The complete list of Punjab Govt Holidays 2021 is given on this page. The list given on this page is as per the gazetted holidays list issued by the government of Punjab. The first holiday in the new year is on the occassion of religious festival of Birthday Gurpurab of Guru Gobind Singh ji, which is coming on Wednesday, 20th January 2021.
Punjab Govt Holidays 2021
According to this list, there are total 26 gazetted holidays in Punjab during the calendar year 2021 in the public offices of Punjab government. Other than these holidays, the offices will remain closed on all Saturdays and Sundays.

Tomorrow Holiday in Punjab

In schools, we always wanted the tomorrow to be a holiday. Although that's not possible everyday, but if you are reading this page on 26th February 2021, then your wish is granted as tomorrow is a holiday in Punjab.
The next government holiday in Punjab is on 27 February 2021 (Saturday), on the occassion of religious festival of Guru Ravidas Jayanti. Shri Guru Ravidas ji has a large number of followers in the Sikh community as well as amongst the people of Hindu religion. His teachings are also included in Shri Guru Granth Sahib ji.
All government offices, schools, offices of boards, corporations and educational institutes in the state will remain closed. You are reading this page on punjab data dot com.
This day is not a bank holiday in Punjab, so all the private and public sector banks in the state of Punjab will remain open on this day.
Punjabi Jantri 2021 - Download this Android app (FREE, No Ads) for a complete jantri for the new year 2021. The app is very easy to use and provides all the details in both Punjabi and English. This app provides the information like:
  • Sangrand and Gurpurab dates
  • Puranmashi, Masya and Dasmi dates
  • Desi Dates
  • Govt Holidays in Punjab, Haryana & Chandigarh
  • Bank Holidays in Punjab, Haryana & Chandigarh
Click this link to download => Punjabi Jantri 2021

Punjab Govt Holidays 2021

The complete list of government holidays in Punjab for the year 2021 is given below. The offices of Punjab govt will remain closed on these days and also closed on all Saturdays & Sundays.

For the list of bank holidays in Punjab, see the next section.
  1. 20th January (Wednesday)
    Birthday Guru Gobind Singh Ji
  2. 26th January (Tuesday)
    Republic Day
  3. 27th February (Saturday)
    Birthday of Sri Guru Ravidas Ji
  4. 11th March (Thursday)
    Maha Shivratri
  5. 29th March (Monday)
  6. 2nd April (Friday)
    Good Friday
  7. 13th April (Tuesday)
  8. 14th April (Wednesday)
    Birthday of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
  9. 21st April (Wednesday)
    Ram Navami
  10. 25th April (Sunday)
    Mahavir Jayanti
  11. 14th May (Friday)
    Bhagwan Parshuram Jayanti
  12. 14th May (Friday)
  13. 14 June (Monday)
    Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Arjun Dev Ji
  14. 24th June (Thursday)
    Kabir Jayanti
  15. 21st July (Wednesday)
    Eid-ul-Zuha (Bakrid)
  16. 15th August (Sunday)
    Independence Day
  17. 30th August (Monday)
    Janm Ashtami
  18. 2nd October (Saturday)
    Birthday of Mahatma Gandhi
  19. 7th October (Thursday)
    Agarsen Jayanti
  20. 15th October (Friday)
  21. 20th October (Wednesday)
    Birthday of Maharishi Valmiki Ji
  22. 4th November (Thursday)
  23. 5th November (Friday)
    Vishawkarma Day
  24. 19th November (Friday)
    Parkash Gurpurb of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji
  25. 8th December (Wednesday)
    Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji
  26. 25th December (Saturday)
    Christmas Day

NOTE: The festival of Raksha Bandhan (also Rakhi or Rakhri) is coming on 22nd August, which is a holiday as this day is a Sunday. Otherwise there will be a 2 hours holiday in govt offices and offices will open at 11:00 AM.

Bank Holidays 2021 Punjab

There are total 15 Bank Holidays in Punjab in the calendar year 2021. It is important to note that the bank holidays are not same throughout the country. The list is issued by the respective state governments according to the directions of Ministry of Finance, Government of India. Punjab government has notified following holidays which would be observed as public holidays according to section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act. Other than these holidays, banks will remain closed on all Sundays and also on 2nd/4th Saturdays of every month.
  1. 26th January (Tuesday)
    Republic Day
  2. 11th March (Thursday)
    Maha Shivratri
  3. 29th March (Monday)
  4. 1st April (Wednesday)
    Bank Holiday (Annual Account Closing)
  5. 2nd April (Friday)
    Good Friday
  6. 21st April (Wednesday)
    Ram Navami
  7. 14th May (Friday)
  8. 15th August (Sunday)
    Independence Day
  9. 30th August (Monday)
    Janm Ashtami
  10. 2nd October (Saturday)
    Birthday of Mahatma Gandhi
  11. 15th October (Friday)
  12. 20th October (Wednesday)
    Birthday of Maharishi Valmiki Ji
  13. 4th November (Thursday)
  14. 19th November (Friday)
    Parkash Gurpurb of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji
  15. 25th December (Saturday)
    Christmas Day