Municipal Corporations In Punjab

There are total 10 municipal corporations in Punjab. Out of these 10, Phagwara is the only municipal corporation that is not a district headquarter. It comes under Kapurthala district, having district headquarter at Kapurthala city.
The municipal corporations come under the control of Department of Local Government (also called as Local Bodies Department). Navjot Singh Sidhu of Congress, who is an MLA from Amritsar East constituency in Amritsar district, is the cabinet minister of this department. The head office of this department is at Sector 35, Chandigarh.
A list of municipal corporations of Punjab is given below:
  1. Amritsar - Amritsar is the second largest city of Punjab and is famous for the Shri Harmandir Sahib (Golden Temple). Bakshi Ram Arora is the current mayor of Amritsar. He belongs to BJP. Avtar Singh Truckanwala is the senior deputy mayor, who was earlier a member of SAD but has now switched to Congress.
    Population: 11.59 Lakh
    Office: Municipal Corporation Amritsar, Town Hall, Amritsar.
    Contact Number: 0183-2545155
  2. Bathinda - Balwant Rai Nath is the current mayor of Municipal Corporation Bathinda (MCB). His contact number is 098145-86896.
    Population: 2.86 Lakh
    Office: Near Railway Station, Bathinda.
    Phone: 1800-180-2626 (Toll Free Number)
  3. Hoshiarpur - Shiv Kumar Sood is the current mayor of Municipal Corporation Hoshiarpur.
    Population: 1,68,653
    Office: Municipal Corporation Hoshiarpur Building, Shakti Nagar, Hoshiarpur - 146001.
    Phone: 01882-220322, 244022
  4. Phagwara - Phagwara is the smallest municipal corporation according to the population and it is the only city which is not a district headquarter but is a municipal corporation. Mr. Arun Kumar Khosla is the mayor of this city.
    Population: 97,864
    Office: Town Hall, NH1, Phagwara, Punjab (144401)
    Phone: 01824-260426
  5. Jalandhar - Jalandhar is the third largest city (by population) of Punjab. Sh. Sunil Jyoti is the current mayor of municipal corporation Jalandhar.
    Population: 8,68,929
    Office: 1st Floor, Dr. B.R.Ambedkar Admin Complex, Jalandhar.
    Phone: 0181-2227015
  6. Ludhiana - Ludhiana is the largest city of Punjab having a population of more than 16 lakh. Harcharan Singh Gohalwaria is the mayor of Ludhiana.
    Population: 16,18,879
    Office: Municipal Corporation, Clock Tower Road, Mata Rani Chowk, Ludhiana
    Phone: 0161-2748412, 0161-545877, 98140-20912
  7. Patiala - Patiala is the 4th largest city of Punjab. S. Amrinder Singh Bazaz is the mayor of Patiala.
    Population: 4,46,246
    Office : Municipal Corporation, Moti Bagh, Patiala. Pincode - 147001.
    Contact Number : 1800-180-2808, 0175-2303513
    Email :
    Website :
  8. Moga - Akshit Jain, son of former MLA Joginderpal Jain of Shiromani Akali Dal, is the current and first mayor of Municipal Corporation Moga. Anil Bansal is the senior deputy mayor of Moga.
    Population: 1,63,397
    Contact Number: 01636 - 220337, 220472
    Address: Municipal Corporation, Moga. Pincode - 142001
  9. Pathankot - Anil Vasudeva of BJP is the first and current mayor of Pathankot.
    Population: 1,56,306
    Office: Sarain Mohalla, Pathankot, Punjab 145001
    Phone: 0186-2220230, 0186-2220929
    Website :
  10. Mohali - Kulwant Singh is the current and first mayor of Municipal Corporation Mohali (S.A.S. Nagar).
    Population: 1,66,864
    Office : Municipal Corporation SAS Nagar, Sector-68, Mohali
    Contact Number : 0172-5044907, 0172-5044910
    Email :
    Website :