Jalandhar District (ਜਲੰਧਰ)

Jalandhar is one of the 22 districts of Punjab. The head quarter of this district is the city of same name, that is Jalandhar city. Jalandhar is an important industrial city of Punjab and is famous for its sports industry and hand tools industry. According to population, this is the 3rd largest district of Punjab.

History of Jalandhar

This will be updated soon.

Geographical position of Jalandhar

This will be updated soon.


According to 2011 census, the total population of Jalandhar district is 2193590. It was 1962761 in 2001. This is the third most populous district of Punjab. The other two districts with population higher than Jalandhar are Ludhiana and Amritsar.

Towns and Cities In Jalandhar

There are total 12 cities and towns in this district. A list of towns and cities is given below:
  1. Jalandhar (Municipal Corporation)
  2. Goraya (Municipal Council Class-2)
  3. Nakodar (Municipal Council Class-2)
  4. Nurmahal (Municipal Council Class-2)
  5. Phillaur (Municipal Council Class-2)
  6. Adampur (Municipal Council Class-3)
  7. Alawalpur (Municipal Council Class-3)
  8. Kartarpur (Municipal Council Class-3)
  9. Bhogpur (Nagar Panchayat)
  10. Lohian (Nagar Panchayat)
  11. Mehatpur (Nagar Panchayat)
  12. Shahkot (Nagar Panchayat)
Which district has minimum and maximum number of cities and towns? To get the answer, check our page about list of cities in Punjab.

Tehsils and Sub-Tehsils

Jalandhar district has five tehsils and seven sub-tehsils. List of tehsils of Jalandhar is given below:
  1. Jalandhar-1 ਜਲੰਧਰ-1
  2. Jalandhar-2 ਜਲੰਧਰ-2
  3. Nakodar ਨਕੋਦਰ
  4. Phillaur ਫਿਲੌਰ
  5. Shahkot ਸ਼ਾਹਕੋਟ
List of Sub-Tehsils of Jalandhar:
  1. Adampur ਆਦਮਪੁਰ
  2. Bhogpur ਭੋਗਪੁਰ
  3. Goraya ਗੁਰਾਇਆ
  4. Kartarpur ਕਰਤਾਰਪੁਰ
  5. Lohian ਲੋਹੀਆਂ
  6. Mehatpur ਮਹਿਤਪੁਰ
  7. Nurmahal ਨੂਰਮਹਿਲ

Vidhan Sabha Constituencies in Jalandhar

There are total 9 vidhan sabha constituencies in Jalandhar district. A complete list is given below:
  1. Adampur ਆਦਮਪੁਰ
  2. Jalandhar Cantt. ਜਲੰਧਰ ਛਾਉਣੀ
  3. Jalandhar Central ਜਲੰਧਰ ਕੇਂਦਰੀ
  4. Jalandhar North ਜਲੰਧਰ ਉਤਰੀ
  5. Jalandhar West ਜਲੰਧਰ ਪੱਛਮੀ
  6. Kartarpur ਕਰਤਾਰਪੁਰ
  7. Nakodar ਨਕੋਦਰ
  8. Phillaur ਫਿਲੌਰ
  9. Shahkot ਸ਼ਾਹਕੋਟ

Blocks of Distrcit Jalandhar

There are total 11 development blocks in the district. The list of blocks is given below:
  1. Adampur ਆਦਮਪੁਰ
  2. Bhogpur ਭੋਗਪੁਰ
  3. Jalandhar East ਜਲੰਧਰ ਪੂਰਬੀ
  4. Jalandhar West ਜਲੰਧਰ ਪੱਛਮੀ
  5. Lohian ਲੋਹੀਆਂ
  6. Mehatpur ਮਹਿਤਪੁਰ
  7. Nakodar ਨਕੋਦਰ
  8. Nurmahal ਨੂਰਮਹਿਲ
  9. Phillaur ਫਿਲੌਰ
  10. Rurka Kalan ਰੁੜਕਾ ਕਲਾਂ
  11. Shahkot ਸ਼ਾਹਕੋਟ

MLA from Jalandhar

In last assembly elections held in 2012, all the 9 vidhan sabha seats from Jalandhar were won by ruling SAD and BJP alliance. Congress candidates could not win from any constituency. The list of MLAs from Jalandhar elected in 2012 elections is given below:
  1. Pawan Kumar Tinnu of SAD was elected from Adampur.
  2. Pargat Singh elected from Jalandhar Cantt. He belongs to SAD.
  3. Manoranjan Kalia elected from Jalandhar Central. He belongs to BJP.
  4. K.D. Bhandari of BJP elected from Jalandhar North.
  5. Chunni Lal Bhagat of BJP elected from Jalandhar West.
  6. Sarwan Singh Phillaur elected from Kartarpur. He belongs to SAD.
  7. Gurpartap Singh Wadala of SAD won from Nakodar.
  8. Avinash Chander of SAD elected from Phillaur.
  9. Ajit Singh Kohar elected from Shahkot. He belongs to SAD.
For more details, check this page - Jalandhar MLA List

Market Committees in Jalandhar

There are total tweleve market committees in Jalandhar district.
  1. Adampur
  2. Bhogpur
  3. Bilga
  4. Goraya
  5. Jalandhar
  6. Jalandhar Cantt.
  7. Lohian
  8. Mehatpur
  9. Nakodar
  10. Nurmahal
  11. Phillaur
  12. Shahkot