Finance Minister of Punjab

Manpreet Singh Badal is the current finance minister of Punjab, who took charge of this department in March 2017. The finance minister is called as Khajana Mantri (ਖਜ਼ਾਨਾ ਮੰਤਰੀ) in Punjabi. So if you want to know that who is the Khajana Mantri of Punjab, again the answer is that Manpreet Singh Badal is the current khajana mantri of Punjab.
In the last assembly elections held in early 2017, Congress party came to power in the state and formed govt with Capt Amarinder Singh as the new chief minister of Punjab. Lal Singh was the finance minister of Punjab in the previous Congress govt during 2002-2007, but he has not contested the elections this time. So Manpreet Badal was the most eligible congressman for this post, as he was the finance minister of the state earlier also during the S.A.D. govt in the state in 2007. Parminder Singh Dhinda was the previous finance minister of Punjab during the tenure of S.A.D. govt from 2012-2017. Finance department is one of the most important departments in any state or central govt.

A five time MLA in the Punjab assembly, he belongs to Indian National Congress and is currently MLA from Bathinda Urban seat in Bathinda district. He was elected as MLA from this seat in the elections held in 2017 and won by a margin of 18480 votes. Deepak Bansal of Aam Aadmi Party was at the second position. For more details about this constituency, check this page - Bathinda MLA.
His age is almost 58 years (in 2021) and his permanent residence address is V.P.O. Badal, Tehsil Malout, Dist Shri Muktsar Sahib. He is nephew of Parkash Singh Badal (chief patron of Shiromani Akali Dal and former C.M. of Punjab) and cousin brother of Sukhbir Singh Badal (president of Shiromani Akali Dal). The contact number of Manpreet Badal is 98779-00786 and email address is

Educational Qualification - He is a highly qualified person and has done L.L.B. (Hons) from University of London in 1987. Earlier he did B.A. (Hons in History) St. Stephens College, Delhi. He has done schooling at The Doon School, Dehradun.
Manpreet Badal also heads the following departments as a cabinet minister in Punjab government:
  • Finance
  • Planning
  • Employment Generation and Training
You may be interested to know that Bathinda Urban constituency comes under Bathinda lok sabha constituency. In general elections held in 2014, he unsuccessfully contested from this lok sabha seat and lost to Harsimrat Kaur Badal of S.A.D. (now a cabinet minister in central govt headed by Narendra Modi).

Office Address and Contact Number

The office of the finance minister of Punjab is situated at the Punjab Civil Secretariat, Chandigarh. The complete office address and contact information is:
Office Address: Finance & Planning Minister, Punjab, Room No. 38, 6th Floor, Punjab Civil Secretariat, Chandigarh.
Phone: 0172-2740788, 2741818
Facebook Page:

The finance department has the control of the following:
  1. Department of Finance
  2. Punjab Infrastructure Development Board
  3. Department of Pensions and Welfare of Pensioners
  4. Punjab State Lotteries Department
Other departments related to financial matters of the state are:
  • Excise and Taxation Department - This department is responsible for collection of Excise duty, Value Added Tax (V.A.T.) and other related taxes. This department is currently headed by Capt Amarinder Singh, Chief Minister of Punjab.
  • Department of Revenue - The revenue department is another main department for the generation of income for the state exchequer. This department is responsible for maintaing land records and collection of fees during the registration of property. Currently this department is also headed by the cheif minister himself.

Finance Minister of India

Arun Jaitley, a BJP leader and Rajya Sabha member from Gujarat, is the current Finance Minister in Government of India. During the last general elections held in May 2014, he contested from Amritsar lok sabha seat in Punjab but lost to Captain Amrinder Singh of Congress. Do you know that who was the first finance minister of India after independence? R K Shanmukhan Chetty was the first finance minister of independent India and presented the first budget in parliament on 26 November 1947.