Govt Holidays in Punjab 2021

As government employee or a bank employee, one wants to check the list of holidays in their department or organization. The common people, who have work at a bank or govt office, also wants to check the list of holidays.
For the convenience of our readers, on this page we are providing a complete list of Punjab govt holidays in 2021 and also a list of bank holidays in the state of Punjab during the current year. The list given on this page is as per the gazetted holidays list issued by the state government.
The first holiday in the new year is on the occassion of religious festival of Birthday Gurpurab of Guru Gobind Singh ji, which is coming on Wednesday, 20th January 2021.

According to this list, there are total 26 gazetted holidays in Punjab during the calendar year 2021 in the public offices of Punjab government. Other than these holidays, the offices will remain closed on all Saturdays and Sundays.

Today Bank Open or Not in Punjab

Today's date is 15 June 2021 and this is the 3rd Tuesday of June. If you want to know "are banks open today in Punjab", then continue reading this page. In this section, we will give you information about today's bank holiday in Punjab.
If you are a bank employee, then you may be little disappointed to know that today is not a bank holiday in Punjab. The banks are closed on every 2nd and 4th Saturday of a month, but today is not 2nd or 4th Saturday. This day is also not in the list of bank holidays as declared by the state government. So all the public and private sector banks in the state will remain open. For a list of bank holidays in Punjab during the current year i.e. 2021, please check the next section on this page.
Note: Some readers are looking for bank holidays in Ludhiana in 2021. The bank holidays are declared at the state level, not specific to a city. So the list of holidays in any particular city like Ludhiana, Jalandhar or Amritsar is same as the list of bank holidays in Punjab given on this page.
Note: The next govt holiday in Punjab is on 13th April 2021 on the occassion of festival of Vaisakhi. But this day is not a bank holiday, so banks will remain open.

Tomorrow Holiday in Punjab

In schools, we always wanted the tomorrow to be a holiday. Although that's not possible everyday, but if you are reading this page on 13th June 2021, then your wish is granted as tomorrow is a holiday in Punjab.
The next government holiday in Punjab is on 14 June 2021 (Monday), on the occassion of Martyrdom Day or Shaheedi Diwas of Guru Arjan Dev Ji. Guru Arjan Dev ji was the first martyr of sikh faith, who was executed on the orders of mughal emperor Jahangir.
All government offices, schools, offices of boards, corporations and educational institutes in the state will remain closed. You are reading this page on punjab data dot com.
This day is not a bank holiday in Punjab, so all the private and public sector banks in the state of Punjab will remain open on this day.
The holidays in state capital Chandigarh are not same as the govt holidays in Punjab. So check this link to know about the holidays in Chandigarh:
Chandigarh Holiday List 2021.
Punjabi Jantri 2021 - Download this Android app (FREE, No Ads) for a complete jantri for the new year 2021. The app is very easy to use and provides all the details in both Punjabi and English. This app provides the information like:
  • Sangrand and Gurpurab dates
  • Puranmashi, Masya and Dasmi dates
  • Desi Dates
  • Govt Holidays in Punjab, Haryana & Chandigarh
  • Bank Holidays in Punjab, Haryana & Chandigarh
Click this link to download => Punjabi Jantri 2021

Punjab Govt Holidays 2021

The complete list of government holidays in Punjab for the year 2021 is given below. The offices of Punjab govt will remain closed on these days and also closed on all Saturdays & Sundays.

For the list of bank holidays in Punjab, see the next section.
  1. 20th January (Wednesday)
    Birthday Guru Gobind Singh Ji
  2. 26th January (Tuesday)
    Republic Day
  3. 27th February (Saturday)
    Birthday of Sri Guru Ravidas Ji
  4. 11th March (Thursday)
    Maha Shivratri
  5. 29th March (Monday)
    Holi
  6. 2nd April (Friday)
    Good Friday
  7. 13th April (Tuesday)
    Vaisakhi
  8. 14th April (Wednesday)
    Birthday of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
  9. 21st April (Wednesday)
    Ram Navami
  10. 25th April (Sunday)
    Mahavir Jayanti
  11. 14th May (Friday)
    Bhagwan Parshuram Jayanti
  12. 14th May (Friday)
    Eid-ul-Fitr
  13. 14 June (Monday)
    Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Arjun Dev Ji
  14. 24th June (Thursday)
    Kabir Jayanti
  15. 21st July (Wednesday)
    Eid-ul-Zuha (Bakrid)
  16. 15th August (Sunday)
    Independence Day
  17. 30th August (Monday)
    Janm Ashtami
  18. 2nd October (Saturday)
    Birthday of Mahatma Gandhi
  19. 7th October (Thursday)
    Agarsen Jayanti
  20. 15th October (Friday)
    Dussehra
  21. 20th October (Wednesday)
    Birthday of Maharishi Valmiki Ji
  22. 4th November (Thursday)
    Diwali
  23. 5th November (Friday)
    Vishawkarma Day
  24. 19th November (Friday)
    Parkash Gurpurb of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji
  25. 8th December (Wednesday)
    Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji
  26. 25th December (Saturday)
    Christmas Day

NOTE: The festival of Raksha Bandhan (also Rakhi or Rakhri) is coming on 22nd August, which is a holiday as this day is a Sunday. Otherwise there will be a 2 hours holiday in govt offices and offices will open at 11:00 AM.

Bank Holidays 2021 Punjab

There are total 15 Bank Holidays in Punjab in the calendar year 2021. It is important to note that the bank holidays are not same throughout the country. The list is issued by the respective state governments according to the directions of Ministry of Finance, Government of India. Punjab government has notified following holidays which would be observed as public holidays according to section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act. Other than these holidays, banks will remain closed on all Sundays and also on 2nd/4th Saturdays of every month.
Bank Holidays in Punjab 2021
HolidayHoliday DateWeekday
Republic Day 26 January 2021 Tuesday
Maha Shivratri 11 March 2021 Thursday
Holi 29 March 2021 Monday
Annual Closing of Accounts Day 1 April 2021 Thursday
Good Friday 2 April 2021 Friday
Ram Navmi 21 April 2021 Wednesday
Id-ul-Fitr 14 May 2021 Friday
Independence Day 15 August 2021 Sunday
Janmashtami 30 August 2021 Monday
Gandhi Jayanti 2 October 2021 Saturday
Dussehra (Vijay Dasami) 15 October 2021 Friday
Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti 20 October 2021 Wednesday
Diwali 4 November 2021 Thursday
Guru Nanak Dev Ji Gurpurab 19 November 2021 Friday
Christmas Day 25 December 2021 Saturday

Other than these holidays banks will remain closed on all Sundays and also on 2nd/4th Saturdays of each month.