MLA of Rup Nagar 2022

Rup Nagar constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 50. During the recently held assembly elections in Punjab, the voting for the election of MLA of Rup Nagar was held on 20th February 2022. As per the latest updates available, Dinesh Kumar Chadha of AAP has won from this seat with a margin of 23632 votes and is elected as the new MLA of Rup Nagar in 2022. Barinder Singh Dhillon of Congress has lost the elections and secured the second place.

For a complete list of new MLAs of Punjab, you can check the following link:
Punjab MLA List 2022 For a list of all the MLAs from Ropar district, check the following page:
Ropar MLA List
This constituency is located in Ropar district of Punjab and comes under the Anandpur Sahib lok sabha seat. Here it may be noted that there are total thirteen lok sabha seats and twenty three districts in Punjab. In the previous assembly elections held in 2017, Amarjit Singh Sandoa of AAP won from this Vidhan Sabha seat and elected as the new MLA of Rup Nagar. He won the last assembly elections held in 2017 by defeating its nearest opponent Barinder Dhillon of Congress with a margin of 23707 votes.
For the last assembly elections, the voting was held on 4th Feb 2017 and the results were declared on 11 Mar 2017.

Voters in Rup Nagar constituency

As per the voter list for 2017 assembly elections, the total number of voters in Rup Nagar constituency is 167531. During these elctions, the election commission established 193 polling stations, situated at 146 different locations across this assembly segment. During the 2017 elections, the total number of votes cast in this constituency was 129594 and the voting percentage was recorded at 77.36%, which was higher than the state average of 77.4%.

Rup Nagar Candidates

The last assembly elections in Punjab were held in February 2017. On this page, we have given details of candidates from Rup Nagar belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP, BJP and Congress candidates. Some details about these candidates like age, education and contact number is also given here.
AAP Candidate : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Amarjit Singh for the coming assembly elections. His age is 39 years and level of education is Matriculation. The contact number of Amarjit Singh is 9599326931. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate : Daljit Singh Cheema is the Shiromani Akali Dal (S.A.D) candidate from this constituency. He is 55 years old and his educational qualification is MBBS. If you want to contact him, you can call at 9915100082, 9872464809. He is also a sitting MLA from this constituency. In previous assembly elections, he/she won from this seat by defeating nearest opponent Ramesh Dutt of Congress party. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Barinder Dhillon as its MLA candidate from this constituency. Some more details about Barinder Dhillon are as follows: Age - 33 years, Education - L.L.B.. For a phone call, his contact number is 9888004302. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

Rup Nagar MLA 2012

In 2012 elections, Sardar Daljit Singh Cheema became MLA from Rup Nagar and He is associated with SAD. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the previous assembly elections by winning with a margin of 8882 votes. Ramesh Dutt of Congress was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 02-03-1962 at Mari Buchian, District Batala. Name of his father is S. Sher Singh Cheema. The following table shows some more information about him:

Sardar Daljit Singh Cheema
Father's NameS. Sher Singh Cheema
Date of Birth02-03-1962
Place of BirthMari Buchian, District Batala
Name of wife
Address#546, Cheema Nagar Extension, Jalandhar Cantt, Teh. Jalandhar-1, Distt. Jalandhar
Educational QualificationMedical
Study AtFaridkot

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List