Abohar Constituency

Abohar constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 81. Shri Sunil Kumar Jakhar, who belongs to INC, is the current MLA of Abohar. It is located in Fazilka district of Punjab and comes under the Firozpur lok sabha seat. Here it may be noted that there are total thirteen lok sabha seats and twenty two districts in Punjab.

For a list of other MLAs from Fazilka district, check the following page:
Fazilka MLA List

Abohar Election Result 2017

The polling for the current elections is over and a large number of people turned up to cast their vote and used their right to elect the representatives from their area. Now everybody has a question in his mind - Who will win from Abohar? To know the answer we have to wait for the counting of votes which will be done on 11th March and the results will be announced on the same day. Let's see who will be the new MLA from this seat. For the state wide election results and list of MLAs, you can check the page Punjab Election 2017 Results.

Voting Percentage in Abohar: The total number of votes cast in this constituency during the 2017 elections is 124447 and the voting percentage is recorded at 78.05%, which is higher than the state average of 77.4%.
Voters in Abohar - The total number of voters in Abohar assembly seat is 159440. The election commission has established 156 polling stations and these polling stations are situated at 76 different locations across this assembly segment.

Abohar Candidates

The next assembly elections in Punjab will be held in February 2017. On this page, we have given details of candidates from Abohar belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP, BJP and Congress candidates. Some details about these candidates like age, education and contact number is also given here.
AAP Candidate : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Atul Nagpal for the coming assembly elections. His age is 46 years and level of education is MATRIC. The contact number of Atul Nagpal is 9417033333. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
BJP Candidate : BJP is having an alliance with Akali Dal and has nominated Arun Narang as its MLA candidate from this constituency. He is 61 years old and his educational qualification is B.SC., L.L.B.. If you want to contact him, you can call at 9888914000. For the complete list of BJP candidates, check this page BJP Candidate List 2017 Punjab.
Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Sunil Kumar Jakhar as its MLA candidate from this constituency. Some more details about Sunil Kumar Jakhar are as follows: Age - 63 years, Education - M.B.A.. For a phone call, his contact number is 01634-220432. He is also a sitting MLA from this constituency. In previous assembly elections, he/she won from this seat by defeating nearest opponent Shiv Lal Dodha of Independent party. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

MLA of Abohar - Shri Sunil Kumar Jakhar

Shri Sunil Kumar Jakhar is the current MLA from Abohar. He is associated with INC. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the previous assembly elections by winning with a margin of 9778 votes. Shiv Lal Dodha of Independent was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 09-02-1954 at Panj Kosi, District Firozpur. Name of his father is Chaudhri Balram Jakhar. The following table shows some more information about him:

Shri Sunil Kumar Jakhar
Father's NameChaudhri Balram Jakhar
Date of Birth09-02-1954
Place of BirthPanj Kosi, District Firozpur
Name of wife
AddressVill. Panjkosi, Teh. Abohar, Distt. Fazilka
Educational QualificationMBA
Study At

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List