Republic Day Quiz Questions Answers

This year, we are celebrating 68th Republic Day of India. India got independence on 15 August 1947, after almost 200 years long british rule and became Dominion of India. Almost two and a half year after independence, India got its own constitution and became 'Republic of India' on 26 January 1950.
As part of the celebrations, quiz programs are organized in many schools and colleges in which you will be asked questions about Indian constitution, Republic Day and Indian Independence Movement. If you are a school or college student and looking for a Republic Day Quiz, then this web page is for you. Let's start the Republic Day Quiz 2017.
Who will be the chief guest during this year's (2017) national level Republic Day celebrations?
A) Tony Abbott
B) Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan
C) Justin Trudeau
D) Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum
Show Answer

This year (2017), who will raise the flag during national level Republic Day function in New Delhi?
A) Narendra Modi
B) Pranab Mukherjee
C) Mohammad Hamid Ansari
D) Rajnath Singh
Show Answer

When did The Constituion of India came into effect?
A) 26 November 1949
B) 26 January 1950
C) 26 January 1947
D) 26 January 1949
Show Answer

According to States Reorganization Act 1956, how many states and union territories (UTs) were created?
A) 9 States, 7 UTs
B) 11 States, 9 UTs
C) 14 States, 5 UTs
D) 29 States, 7 UTs
Show Answer

What does the three colours of national flag represent?
A) Justice, Selflessness, Agriculture
B) Religion, Peace, Trees
C) Sacrifice, Peace and Prosperity
D) None of these
Show Answer

When was the declaration of Purna Swaraj released?
A) 12 March 1930
B) 26 January 1930
C) 13 April 1919
D) 28 September 1907
Show Answer

On the Republic Day, flag ceremony is held at which place?
A) Red Fort
B) Rashtrapati
C) Rajpath
D) Raisina Hills
Show Answer

The independent legislative assemblies in all provinces of British India were established by which act?
A) Indian Council Act, 1892
B) Rowlett Act
C) Mont-Ford Reforms
D) Government of India Act 1935
Show Answer

Who was the first President of India and when did he bacame the President?
A) Mahatma Gandhi, 1947
B) Mahatma Gandhi, 1950
C) Rajendra Prasad, 1947
D) Rajendra Prasad, 1950
Show Answer

'Vande Mataram' was first sung during which session of Indian National Congress?
A) 1896
B) 1920
C) 1911
D) 1931
Show Answer

Which of the following leaders is known as the "Iron Man of India"?
A) Baldev Singh
B) Bhagat Singh
C) Lal Bahadur Shastri
D) Vallabhbhai Patel
Show Answer

Which of the following rights was described as heart and soul of the constitution by Dr. Ambedkar?
A) Right to freedom
B) Right to vote and elect MPs
C) Right of freedom of religion
D) Right to equality
Show Answer

Which of the following songs is the national anthem of India?
A) Rangde Basanti Chola
B) Saare Jahan Se Acha
C) Jana Gana Mana
D) Vande Mataram
Show Answer

Which of the following revolutionaries threw bombs at Central Legislative Assembly in Delhi?
A) Bhagat Singh, Rajguru and Sukhdev
B) Bhagat Singh and Batukeshwar Dutt
C) Kishori Lal, Jai Gopal and Bhagat Singh
D) Chandra Shekhar Azad and Jai Gopal
Show Answer

After independence, who was the first Governor-General of India?
A) Rajendra Prasad
B) Lord Mountbatten
C) Lord Dalhousie
D) C. Rajagopalachari
Show Answer

Who wrote the famous book 'India Wins Freedom'?
A) Jawaharlal Nehru
B) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
C) Bipan Chandra
D) Sekhar Bandyopadhyay
Show Answer

When was Indian Independence Act 1947 given royal assent?
A) 3 June 1947
B) 18 July 1947
C) 15 August 1947
D) 2 March 1947
Show Answer

Which Indian city is known as City of Prime Ministers?
A) Varanasi
B) Allahabad
C) Ahmedabad
D) Bhopal
Show Answer

In which year the First Round Table Conference was held?
A) 1927
B) 1930
C) 1933
D) 1938
Show Answer

The word 'socialist secular' were added to the Preamble of the constitution by which amendment?
A) 76th Amendment
B) 44nd Amendment
C) 1st Amendment
D) 42nd Amendment
Show Answer

Who is considered as the main architect of the constitution of India?
A) Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar
B) Mahatma Gandhi
C) Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru
D) Sachidananda Sinha
Show Answer

Indian Independence Quiz
Indian Independence Quiz - Part 2
Indian Independence Quiz - Part 3
Indian Independence Quiz - Part 4