Ropar (Rup Nagar) District (ਰੂਪ ਨਗਰ)

Ropar is one of the 22 districts of Punjab. The head quarter of this district is the city of same name, that is Ropar city. The official name of the district is Rup Nagar. But its old name was Ropar and till date it is mainly called as Ropar. According to population, it is positioned at 17th rank out of the total 22 districts of Punjab.

History of Ropar

This will be updated soon.

Geographical position of Ropar

This will be updated soon.


According to 2011 census, the total population of Ropar district is 684627. It was 628846 in 2001.

Towns and Cities In Ropar

There are total 7 cities and towns in this district. A list of towns and cities is given below:
  1. Nangal (Municipal Council Class-1)
  2. Morinda (Municipal Council Class-2)
  3. Rup Nagar or Ropar (Municipal Council Class-2)
  4. Anandpur Sahib (Municipal Council Class-3)
  5. Chamkaur Sahib (Nagar Panchayat)
  6. Kiratpur Sahib (Nagar Panchayat)
  7. Nurpur Bedi (Nagar Panchayat)
Which district has minimum and maximum number of cities and towns? To get the answer, check our page about list of cities in Punjab.

Tehsils and Sub-Tehsils

Ropar district has four tehsils and two sub-tehsils. List of tehsils of Ropar is given below:
  1. Anandpur Sahib ਅਨੰਦਪੁਰ ਸਾਹਿਬ
  2. Chamkaur Sahib ਚਮਕੌਰ ਸਾਹਿਬ
  3. Nangal ਨੰਗਲ
  4. Rup Nagar ਰੂਪ ਨਗਰ
List of Sub-Tehsils of Ropar:
  1. Morinda ਮੋਰਿੰਡਾ
  2. Nurpur Bedi ਨੂਰਪੁਰ ਬੇਦੀ

Assembly Constituencies in Ropar

There are total 3 constituencies in district Ropar.
  1. Anandpur Sahib ਅਨੰਦਪੁਰ ਸਾਹਿਬ
  2. Chamkaur Sahib ਚਮਕੌਰ ਸਾਹਿਬ
  3. Rup Nagar ਰੂਪ ਨਗਰ

Blocks of Distrcit Ropar

The villages in the district are divided into five development blocks. The list of blocks is given below:
  1. Anandpur Sahib ਅਨੰਦਪੁਰ ਸਾਹਿਬ
  2. Chamkaur Sahib ਚਮਕੌਰ ਸਾਹਿਬ
  3. Morinda ਮੋਰਿੰਡਾ
  4. Nurpur Bedi ਨੂਰਪੁਰ ਬੇਦੀ
  5. Rup Nagar ਰੂਪ ਨਗਰ

MLA from Ropar

In last assembly elections held in 2012, out of total 3 vidhan sabha members from Ropar, Shiromani Akali Dal won 1 seat, BJP won from one sea and one seat was won by Congress party. The list of MLAs from Ropar elected in 2012 elections is given below:
  1. Madan Mohan Mittal elected from Anandpur Sahib. He belongs to BJP.
  2. Charanjit Singh Channi elected from Chamkaur Sahib. He belongs to Congress.
  3. Daljit Singh Cheema elected from Rup Nagar. He belongs to SAD.
For more details, check this page - Ropar MLA List

Market Committees in Ropar

There are total four market committees in Ropar district.
  1. Anandpur Sahib
  2. Chamkaur Sahib
  3. Morinda
  4. Rup Nagar