Sangrur District (ਸੰਗਰੂਰ)

Sangrur is one of the 22 districts of Punjab. The head quarter of this district is the city of same name, that is Sangrur city. According to population, this is one of the largest districts of the state and its rank is 5th out of the total twenty two districts in the state.

History of Sangrur

It is believed that Sangrur was founded by a Jat named Sangu about 350 years ago. Upto 1774, it was just like a village. At the time of Independence of India in 1947, it was the capital of Jind state. It was made a district on 21 Sept. 1948 when Pepsu state was formed.

Geographical position of Sangrur

This district has its boundaries common with district Ludhiana, Patiala,Barnala, Mansa and Jind (Haryana). Ludhiana is on its north, Jind on South, Patiala on East, Barnala on West and Mansa on South West.
The district headquarter of Sangrur is the city of the same name. Sangrur is 78 kms from Ludhiana, 35 kms from Barnala and 54 kms from Patiala.


According to 2011 census, the total population of Sangrur district is 1655169.. It was 1473242 in 2001.

Towns and Cities In Sangrur

There are total 13 cities and towns in this district. A list of towns and cities is given below:
  1. Malerkotla (Municipal Council Class-1)
  2. Sangrur (Municipal Council Class-1)
  3. Sunam (Municipal Council Class-1)
  4. Ahmedgarh (Municipal Council Class-2)
  5. Dhuri (Municipal Council Class-2)
  6. Lehragaga (Municipal Council Class-2)
  7. Bhawanigarh (Municipal Council Class-3)
  8. Longowal (Municipal Council Class-3)
  9. Amargarh (Nagar Panchayat)
  10. Cheema (Nagar Panchayat)
  11. Dirba (Nagar Panchayat)
  12. Khanauri (Nagar Panchayat)
  13. Moonak (Nagar Panchayat)
Which district has minimum and maximum number of cities and towns? To get the answer, check our page about list of cities in Punjab.

Tehsils and Sub-Tehsils

Sangrur district has nine tehsils and five sub-tehsils. List of tehsils of Sangrur is given below:
  1. Ahmedgarh ਅਹਿਮਦਗੜ੍ਹ
  2. Bhawanigarh ਭਵਾਨੀਗੜ੍ਹ
  3. Dhuri ਧੂਰੀ
  4. Dirba ਦਿੜਬਾ
  5. Lehra ਲਹਿਰਾ
  6. Malerkotla ਮਲੇਰਕੋਟਲਾ
  7. Moonak ਮੂਨਕ
  8. Sangrur ਸੰਗਰੂਰ
  9. Sunam ਸੁਨਾਮ
List of Sub-Tehsils of Sangrur:
  1. Amargarh ਅਮਰਗੜ੍ਹ
  2. Cheema ਚੀਮਾ
  3. Khanauri ਖਨੌਰੀ
  4. Longowal ਲੋਂਗੋਵਾਲ
  5. Sherpur ਸ਼ੇਰਪੁਰ

Vidhan Sabha Constituencies in Sangrur

There are total seven vidhan sabha constituencies in district Sangrur.
  1. Amargarh ਅਮਰਗੜ੍ਹ
  2. Dhuri ਧੂਰੀ
  3. Dirba ਦਿੜਬਾ
  4. Lehra ਲਹਿਰਾ
  5. Malerkotla ਮਲੇਰਕੋਟਲਾ
  6. Sangrur ਸੰਗਰੂਰ
  7. Sunam ਸੁਨਾਮ

Blocks of Distrcit Sangrur

The district is divided into 10 development blocks. The list of blocks is given below:
  1. Andana ਅਨਦਾਨਾ
  2. Bhawanigarh ਭਵਾਨੀਗੜ੍ਹ
  3. Dhuri ਧੂਰੀ
  4. Dirba ਦਿੜਬਾ
  5. Lehragaga ਲਹਿਰਾਗਾਗਾ
  6. Malerkotla-1 ਮਲੇਰਕੋਟਲਾ-1
  7. Malerkotla-2 ਮਲੇਰਕੋਟਲਾ-2
  8. Sangrur ਸੰਗਰੂਰ
  9. Sherpur ਸ਼ੇਰਪੁਰ
  10. Sunam ਸੁਨਾਮ

MLA from Sangrur

In last assembly elections held in 2012, out of total 3 assembly seats in Sangrur, Shiromani Akali Dal won 2 seats and 1 seat was won by Congress party. The list of MLAs from Sangrur elected in 2012 elections is given below:
  1. Iqbal Singh Jhundan of SAD is MLA from Amargarh.
  2. Arvind Khanna is MLA from Dhuri. He is a member of Congress.
  3. Balbir Singh Ghunas is MLA from Dirba. He is a member of Shiromani Akali Dal.
  4. Rajinder Kaur Bhattal is MLA from Lehra. She belongs to Congress party. She is a former chief minister of Punjab. She has the honour of being the only female chief minister of the state.
  5. Farzana Alam is MLA from Malerkotla. She is a member of S.A.D.
  6. Parkash Chand Garg is MLA from Sangrur. He belongs to S.A.D.
  7. Parminder Singh Dhindsa is MLA from Sunam. He belongs to Shiromani Akali Dal.
For more details, check this page - Sangrur MLA List

Market Committees in Sangrur

There are total fifteen market committees in Sangrur district.
  1. Ahmedgarh
  2. Amargarh
  3. Bhawanigarh
  4. Cheema
  5. Dhuri
  6. Dirba
  7. Khanauri
  8. Lehragaga
  9. Malerkotla
  10. Moonak
  11. Sandaur
  12. Sangrur
  13. Sherpur
  14. Sular Gharat
  15. Sunam