Amritsar District (ਅੰਮ੍ਰਿਤਸਰ)

Amritsar is one of the 22 districts of Punjab. The headquarter of this district is the city of same name, that is Amritsar city. It is famous for Shri Harmandir Sahib, the holiest place of Sikh religion. According to population, this is the second largest district of Punjab. The meaning of word Amritsar is Sarovar of Amrit i.e. pond of nectar.

History of Amritsar

The foundation of Amritsar city was laid in 1574 by Shri Guru Ramdass Ji, the fourth guru of Sikh religion. It was located between the villages of Tung, Sultan-wind, Gutmala and Gilwani. It was initially known with name Ramdasspur or Guru-da-chak. Guru Ramdass ji also built a sarovar (pond) that was named Amritsar. Due to the popularity of this sarovar, with time the city got its name Amritsar. The Amritsar district came into existence in 1849 when Punjab became a part of the British rule.

Geographical position of Amritsar

This is a border district and lies along the international border with Pakistan. On one side, river Ravi separates it from Pakistan and on another side its separated from Kapurthala district by river Beas. Gurdaspur and Taran Tarn are other adjoining districts. The district headquarter of the district, Amritsar city, lies on National Highway number 1 and connected with Delhi Amritsar rail link.


According to 2011 census, the total population of Amritsar district is 2490656. It was 2157020 in 2001.

Towns and Cities In Amritsar

There are total 7 cities and towns in this district. A list of towns and cities is given below:
  1. Amritsar (Municipal Corporation) Population (2011) 11,55,664
  2. Jandiala Guru (Municipal Council Class-2)
  3. Majitha (Municipal Council Class-3)
  4. Ramdas (Municipal Council Class-3)
  5. Ajnala (Nagar Panchayat)
  6. Raja Sansi (Nagar Panchayat)
  7. Rayya (Nagar Panchayat)
Which district has minimum and maximum number of cities and towns? To get the answer, check our page about list of cities in Punjab.

Tehsils and Sub-Tehsils

Amritsar district has five tehsils and five sub-tehsils. List of tehsils of Amritsar is given below:
  1. Ajnala
  2. Amritsar-1
  3. Amritsar-2
  4. Baba Bakala
  5. Majitha
List of Sub-Tehsils of Amritsar:
  1. Atari
  2. Jandiala Guru
  3. Lopoke
  4. Ramdas
  5. Tarsika

Assembly Constituencies in Amritsar

There are total 11 constituencies in district Amritsar.
  1. Ajnala
  2. Raja Sansi
  3. Majitha
  4. Jandiala Guru
  5. Amritsar North
  6. Amritsar West
  7. Amritsar Central
  8. Amritsar East
  9. Amritsar South
  10. Attari
  11. Baba Bakala

Blocks of Distrcit Amritsar

The district is divided into 9 development blocks. The list of blocks is given below:
  1. Ajnala ਅਜਨਾਲਾ
  2. Atari ਅਟਾਰੀ
  3. Chaugawan ਚੌਗਾਵਾਂ
  4. Harsha Chhina ਹਰਸ਼ਾ ਛੀਨਾ
  5. Jandiala Guru ਜੰਡਿਆਲਾ ਗੁਰੂ
  6. Majitha ਮਜੀਠਾ
  7. Rayya ਰਈਆ
  8. Tarsika ਤਰਸਿਕਾ
  9. Verka ਵੇਰਕਾ

MLA from Amritsar

In last assembly elections held in 2012, out of total 11 assembly seats in Amritsar, SAD won 6 seats, BJP candidates won 2 seats and 3 seats were won by Congress party. The list of MLAs from Amritsar elected in 2012 elections is given below:
  1. Amarpal Singh Ajnala elected from Ajnala.
  2. Sukhbinder Singh Sarkaria elected from Raja Sansi.
  3. Bikram Singh Majithia elected from Majitha.
  4. Baljit Singh Jalal Usma elected from Jandiala Guru.
  5. Anil Joshi elected from Amritsar North.
  6. Dr. Raj Kumar Verka elected from Amritsar West.
  7. Om Parkash Soni elected from Amritsar Central.
  8. Navjot Kaur Sidhu elected from Amritsar East.
  9. Inderbir Singh Bularia elected from Amritsar South.
  10. Gulzar Singh Ranike elected from Attari.
  11. Manjit Singh Mianwind elected from Baba Bakala.
For more details, check this page - Amritsar MLA List

Market Commitees in Amritsar

There are total eight market committees in Amritsar district.
  1. Ajnala
  2. Amritsar
  3. Atari
  4. Chaugawan
  5. Gehri
  6. Majitha
  7. Mehta
  8. Rayya