Market Committees In Punjab

Agricultural Produce Market Committee or Market Committee is a body responsible for providing facilities and infrastructure to the farmers for the marketing of agriculture produce in a given area. There are total 153 market committees in Punjab. Each market committee has one or more market yard or grain market (also Mandi or Dana Mandi in Punjabi), sub-yards and seasonal purchase centers established during the harvest season of main crops cultivated in Punjab. As the agriculture and other related fields are main source of income in the rural areas, these markets are the center of econimic activity in the rural areas. Due to this, most of these places have got developed into flourishing towns.
These market committees are managed by the Punjab State Agricultural Marketing Board (PSAMB), also called as Mandi Board in short. This is a corporate organization established by Punjab government under the Punjab Agricultural Produce Markets Act, 1961 and came into existance on 26 May, 1961. The main objective of this corporation is to provide the infrastructure and network for sale, purchase, storage and processing of agricultural produce and also the production from animal husbandry, horticulture and forests. The chairman of the mandi board is nominated by the state government and Lal Singh is the current chairman of Punjab Mandi Board, who took charge as the chirman of Punjab State Agricultural Marketing Board (Mandi Board) in April 2017. He is one of the senior most leaders of Congress party and is the former finance minister of Punjab. The head office of mandi board is at Punjab Mandi Bhawan, Phase 11, Mohali.
The board comes under the Department of Agriculture, Punjab. Capt. Amarinder Singh, the current Chief Minister of Punjab, is also having the charge of agriculture minister of Punjab. Check this link for a complete list of ministers in Punjab.

Here it would be worth mentioning that marketing yard at Khanna city in Ludhiana district is the larget grain market in Asia. A district wise list of market committees in Punjab is given below.

Market Commitees in Amritsar

There are total eight market committees in Amritsar district.
  1. Ajnala
  2. Amritsar
  3. Atari
  4. Chaugawan
  5. Gehri
  6. Majitha
  7. Mehta
  8. Rayya

Market Committees in Barnala

There are total five market committees in Barnala district.
  1. Barnala
  2. Bhadaur
  3. Dhanaula
  4. Mehal Kalan
  5. Tapa

Market Committees in Bathinda ਬਠਿੰਡਾ

There are total nine market committees in Bathinda district.
  1. Bathinda
  2. Bhagta Bhaika
  3. Bhucho Mandi
  4. Goniana
  5. Maur
  6. Nathana
  7. Raman
  8. Rampura Phul
  9. Sangat
  10. Talwandi Sabo

Market Committees in Faridkot

There are total four market committees in Faridkot district.
  1. Faridkot
  2. Jaito
  3. Kot Kapura
  4. Sadiq

Market Committees in Fatehgarh Sahib

There are total five market committees in Fatehgarh Sahib district.
  1. Amloh
  2. Bassi Pathana
  3. Chanarthal
  4. Khamanon
  5. Sirhind

Market Committees in Fazilka

There are total four market committees in Fazilka district.
  1. Abohar
  2. Arniwala
  3. Fazilka
  4. Jalalabad

Market Committees in Firozpur

There are total eight market committees in Firozpur.
  1. Firozpur
  2. Firozpur Cantt.
  3. Guru Harsahai
  4. Makhu
  5. Mallanwala
  6. Mamdot
  7. Talwandi Bhai
  8. Zira

Market Committees in Gurdaspur

There are total 10 market committees in Gurdaspur district.
  1. Batala
  2. Dera Baba Nanak
  3. Dhariwal
  4. Dina Nagar
  5. Fatehgarh Churian
  6. Gurdaspur
  7. Kahnuwan
  8. Kalanaur
  9. Qadian
  10. Sri Hargobindpur

Market Committees in Hoshiarpur

There are total five market committees in Hoshiarpur district.
  1. Dasua
  2. Garhshankar
  3. Hoshiarpur
  4. Mukerian
  5. Urmar Tanda

Market Committees in Jalandhar

There are total tweleve market committees in Jalandhar district.
  1. Adampur
  2. Bhogpur
  3. Bilga
  4. Goraya
  5. Jalandhar
  6. Jalandhar Cantt.
  7. Lohian
  8. Mehatpur
  9. Nakodar
  10. Nurmahal
  11. Phillaur
  12. Shahkot

Market Committees in Kapurthala

There are total five market committees in Kapurthala district.
  1. Bhulath
  2. Dhilwan
  3. Kapurthala
  4. Phagwara
  5. Sultanpur Lodhi

Market Committees in Ludhiana

There are total thirteen market committees in Ludhiana district.
  1. Doraha
  2. Hathur
  3. Jagraon
  4. Khanna
  5. Kila Raipur
  6. Ludhiana
  7. Machhiwara
  8. Malaud
  9. Mullanpur
  10. Raikot
  11. Sahnewal
  12. Samrala
  13. Sidhwan Bet

Market Committees in Mansa

There are total six market committees in Mansa district.
  1. Bareta
  2. Bhikhi
  3. Boha
  4. Budhlada
  5. Mansa
  6. Sardulgarh

Market Committees in Moga

There are total eight market committees in Moga district.
  1. Ajitwal
  2. Badhni Kalan
  3. Bagha Purana
  4. Dharamkot
  5. Fatehgarh Panjtur
  6. Kot Ise Khan
  7. Moga
  8. Nihal Singh Wala

Market Committees in Pathankot

There are total two market committees in Pathankot district.
  1. Narot Jaimal Singh
  2. Pathankot

Market Commitees in Patiala

There are total nine market commitees in Patiala district.
  1. Bhadson
  2. Dakala
  3. Dudhan Sadhan
  4. Ghanaur
  5. Nabha
  6. Patiala
  7. Patran
  8. Rajpura
  9. Samana

Market Committees in Ropar

There are total four market committees in Ropar district.
  1. Anandpur Sahib
  2. Chamkaur Sahib
  3. Morinda
  4. Rup Nagar

Market Committees in Mohali

There are total five market committees in Mohali district.
  1. Banur
  2. Dera Bassi
  3. Kharar
  4. Kurali
  5. Lalru

Market Committees in Nawan Shahr

There are total three market committees in Nawan Shahr district.
  1. Balachaur
  2. Banga
  3. Shaheed Bhagat Singh Nagar (Nawan Shahr)

Market Committees in Sangrur

There are total fifteen market committees in Sangrur district.
  1. Ahmedgarh
  2. Amargarh
  3. Bhawanigarh
  4. Cheema
  5. Dhuri
  6. Dirba
  7. Khanauri
  8. Lehragaga
  9. Malerkotla
  10. Moonak
  11. Sandaur
  12. Sangrur
  13. Sherpur
  14. Sular Gharat
  15. Sunam

Market Committees in Muktsar

There are total four market committees in Muktsar district.
  1. Bariwala
  2. Gidderbaha
  3. Malout
  4. Shri Muktsar Sahib

Market Committees in Tarn Taran

There are total eight market committees in Tarn Taran district.
  1. Bhikhiwind
  2. Harike
  3. Jhabal
  4. Khadur Sahib
  5. Khem Karan
  6. Naushehra Pannuan
  7. Patti
  8. Tarn Taran