MLA of Amargarh 2022

Amargarh constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 106. During the recently held assembly elections in Punjab, the voting for the election of MLA of Amargarh was held on 20th February 2022. As per the latest updates available, PROF. JASWANT SINGH GAJJAN MAJRA of AAP has won from this seat with a margin of 6043 votes and is elected as the new MLA of Amargarh in 2022. SIMRANJIT SINGH MANN of SAD (Amritsar) has lost the elections and secured the second place.

For a complete list of new MLAs of Punjab, you can check the following link:
Punjab MLA List 2022 For a list of all the MLAs from Sangrur district, check the following page:
Sangrur MLA List
This constituency is located in Sangrur district of Punjab and comes under the Fatehgarh Sahib lok sabha seat. Here it may be noted that there are total thirteen lok sabha seats and twenty three districts in Punjab. In the previous assembly elections held in 2017, Surjit Singh Dhiman of Congress won from this Vidhan Sabha seat and elected as the new MLA of Amargarh. He won the last assembly elections held in 2017 by defeating its nearest opponent Iqbal Singh Jhundan of SAD with a margin of 11879 votes.
For the last assembly elections, the voting was held on 4th Feb 2017 and the results were declared on 11 Mar 2017.

Voters in Amargarh constituency

As per the voter list for 2017 assembly elections, the total number of voters in Amargarh constituency is 154879. During these elctions, the election commission established 187 polling stations, situated at 136 different locations across this assembly segment. During the 2017 elections, the total number of votes cast in this constituency was 131184 and the voting percentage was recorded at 84.70%, which was higher than the state average of 77.4%.

Amargarh Candidates

The last assembly elections in Punjab were held in February 2017. On this page, we have given details of candidates from Amargarh belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP, BJP and Congress candidates. Some details about these candidates like age, education and contact number is also given here.
AAP Candidate : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Jaswant Singh Gajjan Majra (LIP) for the coming assembly elections. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate : Iqbal Singh Jhundan is the Shiromani Akali Dal (S.A.D) candidate from this constituency. He is 55 years old and his educational qualification is B.A., LLB. If you want to contact him, you can call at 9915500198. He is also a sitting MLA from this constituency. In previous assembly elections, he/she won from this seat by defeating nearest opponent Surjit Singh of Congress party. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Surjeet Singh Dhiman as its MLA candidate from this constituency. Some more details about Surjeet Singh Dhiman are as follows: Age - 59 years, Education - Under Matric. For a phone call, his contact number is 9855147522. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

Amargarh MLA 2012

In 2012 elections, Sardar Iqbal Singh Jhunda became MLA from Amargarh and He is associated with SAD. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the previous assembly elections by winning with a margin of 4406 votes. Surjit Singh of Congress was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 02-01-1962 at Jhunda, District Sangrur. Name of his father is Sardar Didar Singh Jhunda. The following table shows some more information about him:

Sardar Iqbal Singh Jhunda
Father's NameSardar Didar Singh Jhunda
Date of Birth02-01-1962
Place of BirthJhunda, District Sangrur
Name of wifeSmt. Gaganjeet Kaur
AddressVillage Jhunda, Teh. Malerkotla, Distt. Sangrur
Educational QualificationB.A, L.L.B.
Study At

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List