MLA of Mehal Kalan 2022

Mehal Kalan constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 104. During the recently held assembly elections in Punjab, the voting for the election of MLA of Mehal Kalan was held on 20th February 2022. As per the latest updates available, Kulwant Singh Pandori of AAP has won from this seat with a margin of 30347 votes and is elected as the new MLA of Mehal Kalan in 2022. Gurjant Singh Kattu of SAD (Amritsar) has lost the elections and secured the second place.

For a complete list of new MLAs of Punjab, you can check the following link:
Punjab MLA List 2022 For a list of all the MLAs from Barnala district, check the following page:
Barnala MLA List
This constituency is located in Barnala district of Punjab and comes under the Sangrur lok sabha seat. Here it may be noted that there are total thirteen lok sabha seats and twenty three districts in Punjab. In the previous assembly elections held in 2017, Kulwant Singh Pandori of AAP won from this Vidhan Sabha seat and elected as the new MLA of Mehal Kalan. She won the last assembly elections held in 2017 by defeating its nearest opponent Ajit Singh Shant of SAD with a margin of 27064 votes.
For the last assembly elections, the voting was held on 4th Feb 2017 and the results were declared on 11 Mar 2017. This assembly constituency is reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates. There are total 34 assembly seats in Punjab which are reserved for SC candidates and only a person belonging to SC category can contest elections from these reserved seats.

Voters in Mehal Kalan constituency

As per the voter list for 2017 assembly elections, the total number of voters in Mehal Kalan constituency is 153347. During these elctions, the election commission established 163 polling stations, situated at 99 different locations across this assembly segment. During the 2017 elections, the total number of votes cast in this constituency was 125177 and the voting percentage was recorded at 81.63%, which was higher than the state average of 77.4%.

Mehal Kalan Candidates

The last assembly elections in Punjab were held in February 2017. On this page, we have given details of candidates from Mehal Kalan belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP, BJP and Congress candidates. Some details about these candidates like age, education and contact number is also given here.
AAP Candidate : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Kulwant Singh Pandhuri for the coming assembly elections. His age is 43 years and level of education is +2 Pass (Vocational Group). The contact number of Kulwant Singh Pandhuri is 9815923957. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate : Ajit Singh Shant is the Shiromani Akali Dal (S.A.D) candidate from this constituency. He is 61 years old and his educational qualification is M.A. Punjabi. If you want to contact him, you can call at 9878070029. In the previous assembly elections, Gobind Singh Khanjla was the akali candidate from this assembly seat, but party has not fielded him from this seat for the coming elections. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Harchand Kaur as its MLA candidate from this constituency. Some more details about Harchand Kaur are as follows: Age - 60 years, Education - Matric. For a phone call, his contact number is 9872136522. He is also a sitting MLA from this constituency. In previous assembly elections, he/she won from this seat by defeating nearest opponent Gobind Singh Khanjla of SAD party. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

Mehal Kalan MLA 2012

In 2012 elections, Shrimati Harchand Kaur became MLA from Mehal Kalan and She is associated with INC. She was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the previous assembly elections by winning with a margin of 7391 votes. Gobind Singh Khanjla of SAD was the trailing candidate.
She was born on 02-02-1956 at Khanauri Kalan, District Sangrur. Name of her father is Sardar Jeon Singh. The following table shows some more information about her:

Shrimati Harchand Kaur
Father's NameSardar Jeon Singh
Date of Birth02-02-1956
Place of BirthKhanauri Kalan, District Sangrur
Name of husbandSardar Sant Singh
AddressVPO Mehal Kalan, Distt. Barnala
Educational QualificationMatric & JBT
Study At

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List