MLA from Chamkaur Sahib

The current MLA of Chamkaur Sahib vidhan sabha halka is Sardar Charanjit Singh Channi, who belongs to INC. Chamkaur Sahib is one of the 117 assembly constituencies of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 51. It is located in Ropar district, which is one of the total 22 districts in Punjab. It comes under the Anandpur Sahib lok sabha constituency. Here it may be noted that there are 13 lok sabha seats in Punjab. This assembly constituency is reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates. There are total 34 assembly seats in Punjab which are reserved for SC candidates and only a person belonging to SC category can contest elections from these reserved seats.

Voters in Chamkaur Sahib - The total number of voters in Chamkaur Sahib assembly seat is 184378. The election commission has established 205 polling stations and these polling stations are situated at 163 different locations across this assembly segment. For a list of other MLAs from Ropar district, check the following page:
Ropar MLA List

Candidate from Chamkaur Sahib 2017

The next assembly elections in Punjab will be held in February 2017. The political parties in Punjab have started declaring the candidates for these elections. We will update this page with the details of candidates from Chamkaur Sahib belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP candiate, BJP and Congress candidates.

AAP Candidate from Chamkaur Sahib : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Dr. Charanjit Singh for the coming assembly elections. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate from Chamkaur Sahib : Nirmal Singh will be the Shiromani Akali Dal candidate from this constituency. In 2012 elections, Jagmit Kaur Sandhu was the akali candidate from this assembly seat, but party has not fielded him from this seat for the coming elections. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Chamkaur Sahib Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Charanjit Singh Channi as its MLA candidate from this constituency. He is also a sitting MLA from this constituency. In previous assembly elections, he/she won from this seat by defeating nearest opponent Jagmit Kaur Sandhu of SAD party. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

Sardar Charanjit Singh Channi

Sardar Charanjit Singh Channi is the MLA from Chamkaur Sahib. He is associated with INC. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the elections held in 2012. He won by a margin of 3659 votes. Jagmit Kaur Sandhu of SAD was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 15-03-1963 at Bhajauli, Tehsil Kharar, District S.A.S. Nagar. Name of his father is Sardar Harsa Singh. The following table shows some more information about him:

Sardar Charanjit Singh Channi
Father's NameSardar Harsa Singh
Date of Birth15-03-1963
Place of BirthBhajauli, Tehsil Kharar, District S.A.S. Nagar
Name of wifeDr. (Smt.) Kamaljit Kaur
AddressHouse No.1661, Gurudwara Akali Daftar Road, Kharar
Educational QualificationB.A, L.L.B.
Study At

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List