MLA of Chabbewal 2022

Chabbewal constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 44. During the recently held assembly elections in Punjab, the voting for the election of MLA of Chabbewal was held on 20th February 2022. As per the latest updates available, Dr. Raj Kumar of Congress has won from this seat with a margin of 7646 votes and is elected as the new MLA of Chabbewal in 2022. Harminder Singh of AAP has lost the elections and secured the second place.

For a complete list of new MLAs of Punjab, you can check the following link:
Punjab MLA List 2022 For a list of all the MLAs from Hoshiarpur district, check the following page:
Hoshiarpur MLA List
This constituency is located in Hoshiarpur district of Punjab and comes under the Hoshiarpur lok sabha seat. Here it may be noted that there are total thirteen lok sabha seats and twenty three districts in Punjab. In the previous assembly elections held in 2017, Dr. Raj Kumar of Congress won from this Vidhan Sabha seat and elected as the new MLA of Chabbewal. He won the last assembly elections held in 2017 by defeating its nearest opponent Sohan Singh Thandal of SAD with a margin of 29261 votes.
For the last assembly elections, the voting was held on 4th Feb 2017 and the results were declared on 11 Mar 2017. This assembly constituency is reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates. There are total 34 assembly seats in Punjab which are reserved for SC candidates and only a person belonging to SC category can contest elections from these reserved seats.

Voters in Chabbewal constituency

As per the voter list for 2017 assembly elections, the total number of voters in Chabbewal constituency is 155315. During these elctions, the election commission established 203 polling stations, situated at 149 different locations across this assembly segment. During the 2017 elections, the total number of votes cast in this constituency was 115359 and the voting percentage was recorded at 74.27%, which was less than the state average of 77.4%.

Chabbewal Candidates

The last assembly elections in Punjab were held in February 2017. On this page, we have given details of candidates from Chabbewal belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP, BJP and Congress candidates. Some details about these candidates like age, education and contact number is also given here.
AAP Candidate : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Raman Kumar for the coming assembly elections. His age is 32 years and level of education is Higher Secondary. The contact number of Raman Kumar is 9915211344. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate : Sohan Singh Thandal is the Shiromani Akali Dal (S.A.D) candidate from this constituency. He is 62 years old and his educational qualification is B.A.. If you want to contact him, you can call at 9463703399. He is also a sitting MLA from this constituency. In previous assembly elections, he/she won from this seat by defeating nearest opponent Dr. Raj Kumar of Congress party. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Dr. Raj Kumar as its MLA candidate from this constituency. Some more details about Dr. Raj Kumar are as follows: Age - 47 years, Education - MD (Radio-Diagnosis). For a phone call, his contact number is 9815744705. In previous assembly elections, he contested from this constituency from Congress ticket but lost to Sohan Singh Thandal of SAD party. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

Chabbewal MLA 2012

In 2012 elections, Sardar Sohan Singh Thandal became MLA from Chabbewal and He is associated with SAD. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the previous assembly elections by winning with a margin of 6235 votes. Dr. Raj Kumar of Congress was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 02-03-1957 at Nangal Thandal, District Hoshiarpur. Name of his father is Sardar Jagat Singh. The following table shows some more information about him:

Sardar Sohan Singh Thandal
Father's NameSardar Jagat Singh
Date of Birth02-03-1957
Place of BirthNangal Thandal, District Hoshiarpur
Name of wifeSmt. Balbir Kaur
AddressVillage Thandal, PO Ajnoha, Tehsil Garhshankar
Educational QualificationB.A.
Study AtPhagwara

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List