Nawanshahr Constituency

Nawanshahr constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 47. Shrimati Guriqbal Kaur Babli, who belongs to INC, is the current MLA of Nawanshahr. It is located in Nawan Shahr district of Punjab and comes under the Anandpur Sahib lok sabha seat. Here it may be noted that there are total thirteen lok sabha seats and twenty two districts in Punjab.

For a list of other MLAs from Nawan Shahr district, check the following page:
Nawan Shahr MLA List

Nawanshahr Election Result 2017

The polling for the current elections is over and a large number of people turned up to cast their vote and used their right to elect the representatives from their area. Now everybody has a question in his mind - Who will win from Nawanshahr? To know the answer we have to wait for the counting of votes which will be done on 11th March and the results will be announced on the same day. Let's see who will be the new MLA from this seat. For the state wide election results and list of MLAs, you can check the page Punjab Election 2017 Results.

Voting Percentage in Nawanshahr: The total number of votes cast in this constituency during the 2017 elections is 127730 and the voting percentage is recorded at 76.11%, which is less than the state average of 77.4%.
Voters in Nawanshahr - The total number of voters in Nawanshahr assembly seat is 167819. The election commission has established 197 polling stations and these polling stations are situated at 140 different locations across this assembly segment.

Nawanshahr Candidates

The next assembly elections in Punjab will be held in February 2017. On this page, we have given details of candidates from Nawanshahr belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP, BJP and Congress candidates. Some details about these candidates like age, education and contact number is also given here.
AAP Candidate : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Charanjit Singh Channi for the coming assembly elections. His age is 75 years and level of education is Bishop Cotton Senior Cambridge. The contact number of Charanjit Singh Channi is 9417115551. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate : Jarnail Singh Wahid is the Shiromani Akali Dal (S.A.D) candidate from this constituency. He is 72 years old and his educational qualification is B.A, L.L.B. If you want to contact him, you can call at 9878500600. In the previous assembly elections, Satinder Kaur Kariha was the akali candidate from this assembly seat, but party has not fielded him from this seat for the coming elections. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Angad Saini as its MLA candidate from this constituency. Some more details about Angad Saini are as follows: Age - 26 years, Education - B.B.A.. For a phone call, his contact number is 9888020444. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

MLA of Nawanshahr - Shrimati Guriqbal Kaur Babli

Shrimati Guriqbal Kaur Babli is the current MLA from Nawanshahr. She is associated with INC. She was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the previous assembly elections by winning with a margin of 1818 votes. Satinder Kaur Kariha of SAD was the trailing candidate.
She was born on 15-06-1956 at Jalandhar, District Jalandhar. Name of her father is S. Ujjagar Singh. The following table shows some more information about her:

Shrimati Guriqbal Kaur Babli
Father's NameS. Ujjagar Singh
Date of Birth15-06-1956
Place of BirthJalandhar, District Jalandhar
Name of husband
AddressVPO Saloh, Nawan Shahar
Educational Qualification
Study At

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List