MLA from Sri Hargobindpur

The current MLA of Sri Hargobindpur vidhan sabha halka is Shri Des Raj Dhugga, who belongs to SAD. Sri Hargobindpur is one of the 117 assembly constituencies of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 8. It is located in Gurdaspur district, which is one of the total 22 districts in Punjab. It comes under the Hoshiarpur lok sabha constituency. Here it may be noted that there are 13 lok sabha seats in Punjab. This assembly constituency is reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates. There are total 34 assembly seats in Punjab which are reserved for SC candidates and only a person belonging to SC category can contest elections from these reserved seats.

Voters in Sri Hargobindpur - The total number of voters in Sri Hargobindpur assembly seat is 164744. The election commission has established 213 polling stations and these polling stations are situated at 165 different locations across this assembly segment. For a list of other MLAs from Gurdaspur district, check the following page:
Gurdaspur MLA List

Candidate from Sri Hargobindpur 2017

The next assembly elections in Punjab will be held in February 2017. The political parties in Punjab have started declaring the candidates for these elections. We will update this page with the details of candidates from Sri Hargobindpur belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP candiate, BJP and Congress candidates.

AAP Candidate from Sri Hargobindpur : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Advocate Amarpal Singh for the coming assembly elections. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate from Sri Hargobindpur : Manjit Singh Manna will be the Shiromani Akali Dal candidate from this constituency. In 2012 elections, Des Raj Dhugga of akali dal was elected as MLA from this seat, but party has not given him ticket from this constituency for the 2017 vidhan sabha elections. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Sri Hargobindpur Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Balwinder Singh Laddi as its MLA candidate from this constituency. In previous assembly elections, he contested from this constituency from Congress ticket but lost to Des Raj Dhugga of SAD party. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

Shri Des Raj Dhugga

Shri Des Raj Dhugga is the MLA from Sri Hargobindpur. He is associated with SAD. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the elections held in 2012. He won by a margin of 7437 votes. Balwinder Singh Laddi of Congress was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 30-05-1963 at Dhugga Kalan, District Hoshiarpur. Name of his father is Shri Bhulla Ram. The following table shows some more information about him:

Shri Des Raj Dhugga
Father's NameShri Bhulla Ram
Date of Birth30-05-1963
Place of BirthDhugga Kalan, District Hoshiarpur
Name of wifeSmt. Kuljeet Kaur
AddressVPO Dhugga Kalan, Teh. Dasuya, Distt. Hoshiarpur
Educational QualificationMatric
Study At

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List