MLA from Amritsar Central

The current MLA of Amritsar Central vidhan sabha halka is Shri Om Parkash Soni, who belongs to INC. Amritsar Central is one of the 117 assembly constituencies of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 17. It is located in Amritsar district, which is one of the total 22 districts in Punjab. It comes under the Amritsar lok sabha constituency. Here it may be noted that there are 13 lok sabha seats in Punjab.

Voters in Amritsar Central - The total number of voters in Amritsar Central assembly seat is 134930. The election commission has established 135 polling stations and these polling stations are situated at 63 different locations across this assembly segment. For a list of other MLAs from Amritsar district, check the following page:
Amritsar MLA List

Candidate from Amritsar Central 2017

The next assembly elections in Punjab will be held in February 2017. The political parties in Punjab have started declaring the candidates for these elections. We will update this page with the details of candidates from Amritsar Central belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP candiate, BJP and Congress candidates.

AAP Candidate from Amritsar Central : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Dr. Ajay Gupta for the coming assembly elections. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
BJP Candidate from Amritsar Central : BJP is having an alliance with Akali Dal and has nominated Tarun Chugh as its MLA candidate from this constituency. He was the BJP candidate from this assembly seat in previous elections also, but lost to Om Parkash Soni of Congress party. For the complete list of BJP candidates, check this page BJP Candidate List 2017 Punjab.
Amritsar Central Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Om Parkash Soni as its MLA candidate from this constituency. He is also a sitting MLA from this constituency. In previous assembly elections, he/she won from this seat by defeating nearest opponent Tarun Chugh of BJP party. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

Shri Om Parkash Soni

Shri Om Parkash Soni is the MLA from Amritsar Central. He is associated with INC. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the elections held in 2012. He won by a margin of 12793 votes. Tarun Chugh of BJP was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 03-07-1957 at Bhilowal Pakka, District Amritsar. Name of his father is Shri Jagat Mittar Soni. The following table shows some more information about him:

Shri Om Parkash Soni
Father's NameShri Jagat Mittar Soni
Date of Birth03-07-1957
Place of BirthBhilowal Pakka, District Amritsar
Name of wifeSmt. Suman Soni
Address115, Rani Ka Bagh, Amritsar
Educational QualificationGraduate
Study AtAmritsar

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List