MLA from Amritsar West

The current MLA of Amritsar West vidhan sabha halka is Doctor Raj Kumar Verka, who belongs to INC. Amritsar West is one of the 117 assembly constituencies of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 16. It is located in Amritsar district, which is one of the total 22 districts in Punjab. It comes under the Amritsar lok sabha constituency. Here it may be noted that there are 13 lok sabha seats in Punjab. This assembly constituency is reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates. There are total 34 assembly seats in Punjab which are reserved for SC candidates and only a person belonging to SC category can contest elections from these reserved seats.

Voters in Amritsar West - The total number of voters in Amritsar West assembly seat is 177575. The election commission has established 172 polling stations and these polling stations are situated at 64 different locations across this assembly segment. For a list of other MLAs from Amritsar district, check the following page:
Amritsar MLA List

Candidate from Amritsar West 2017

The next assembly elections in Punjab will be held in February 2017. The political parties in Punjab have started declaring the candidates for these elections. We will update this page with the details of candidates from Amritsar West belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP candiate, BJP and Congress candidates.

AAP Candidate from Amritsar West : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Balwinder Singh Sahota for the coming assembly elections. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
BJP Candidate from Amritsar West : BJP is having an alliance with Akali Dal and has nominated Rakesh Gill as its MLA candidate from this constituency. He was the BJP candidate from this assembly seat in previous elections also, but lost to Dr. Raj Kumar Verka of Congress party. For the complete list of BJP candidates, check this page BJP Candidate List 2017 Punjab.
Amritsar West Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Dr. Raj Kumar Verka as its MLA candidate from this constituency. He is also a sitting MLA from this constituency. In previous assembly elections, he/she won from this seat by defeating nearest opponent Rakesh Gill of BJP party. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

Doctor Raj Kumar Verka

Doctor Raj Kumar Verka is the MLA from Amritsar West. He is associated with INC. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the elections held in 2012. He won by a margin of 11591 votes. Rakesh Gill of BJP was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 20-03-1963 at Amritsar, District Amritsar. Name of his father is . The following table shows some more information about him:

Doctor Raj Kumar Verka
Father's Name
Date of Birth20-03-1963
Place of BirthAmritsar, District Amritsar
Name of wifeSmt. Alka
AddressRam Bagh, Amritsar Ph. 0183-553765 Mobile: 98140-56680
Educational QualificationB.A.M.S.
Study At

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List