MP from Amritsar

Gurjit Singh Aujla of Congress is the MP from Amritsar lok saha seat. He won from this seat during the bypoll held in March 2017, by a margin of 1,99,189 votes from its nearest opponent Rajinder Mohan Singh Chhina of the BJP.

In 2014 general elections, Captain Amarinder Singh of Congress became MP from Amritsar lok saha seat. He won by a margin of 102770 votes and Arun Jaitley of BJP was the trailing candidate. It is interesting to note that Arun Jaitley is the current finance minister of India. Amarinder Singh later resigned from this seat during the Punjab Vidhan Sabha elections in 2017 and he is now the Chief Minister of Punjab.

Amritsar is one of the 13 parliamentary constituencies in Punjab. Its constituency number is 2. The next elections in Amritsar will be held on 30 April, 2014. In 2009 elections, Navjot Singh Sidhu of BJP was elected lok sabha member from this seat.

Amritsar Election Result 2014

Captain Amarinder Singh of Congress has won from Amritsar seat. He got total 482876 votes and won by a margin of 102770 votes. Arun Jaitley of BJP was at the second place and got 380106 votes. Dr. Daljit Singh of Aam Aadmi Party was at third position with 82633 votes. Here is a graphical view of the votes obtained by first three candidates:
Amritsar MP
In Amritsar lok sabha constituency, the voting for general elections 2014 was held on 30 April, 2014. The constituency recorded a voting percentage of 70%. The couting of votes will begin on 16 May, 2014 and the results are expected on the same day. Do you think that BJP will be able to retain this seat and its candidate Arun Jaitley will become MP from this constituency? Soon the election results will be out and people's verdict will be clear.
MP of Punjab

Lok Sabha Candidates from Amritsar

Capt. Amrinder Singh of Congress and Arun Jaitley of BJP are the main candidates from Amritsar seat. Capt. Amrinder Singh, the Maharaja Patiala, is a former Chief Minister of Punjab and current MLA from Patiala assembly contituency. Arun Jaitley is a senior BJP leader. Navjot Singh Sidhu is the current MP from Amritsar and he belongs to BJP.
MP candidates from Amritsar

A list of main contestents with information like address, phone number, educational qualification etc. of the candidates is given below.
  • Amarinder Singh
    Party : Congress
    Address : H.No. - 1669, New Moti Bagh Colony, Patiala
    Phone : 9871200042
    Qualification : N.D.A., I.M.A. Doon
  • Arun Jaitley
    Party : BJP
    Address : A-44, Kailash Colony, New Delhi - 110048
    Phone : 011-29244587
    Qualification : L.L.B. - Faculty of Law, University of Delhi
  • Daljit Singh
    Party : AAP
    Address : 57, Jassi Colony, Amritsar - 143001
    Phone : 98150-00207
    Qualification : M.B.B.S., M.S. - Govt. Medical College, Amritsar. University - Punjab University

Vidhan Sabha seats under Amritsar

In Punjab, there are 9 vidhan sabha seats under each lok sabha constituency. The last elections for Vidhan Sabha were held in 2012. The table below shows a list of assembly constituencies under Amritsar parliamentary constituency. The name of MLA alongwith political party is also given.
  • Ajnala MLA
    Constituency Number : 11
    District : Amritsar
    MLA from Ajnala: Amarpal Singh 'Bony' Ajnala
    Party : SAD
  • Raja Sansi MLA
    Constituency Number : 12
    District : Amritsar
    MLA from Raja Sansi: Sukhbinder Singh Sarkaria
    Party : Congress
  • Majitha MLA
    Constituency Number : 13
    District : Amritsar
    MLA from Majitha: Bikram Singh Majithia
    Party : SAD
  • Amritsar North MLA
    Constituency Number : 15
    District : Amritsar
    MLA from Amritsar North: Anil Joshi
    Party : BJP
  • Amritsar West MLA
    Constituency Number : 16
    District : Amritsar
    MLA from Amritsar West: Dr. Raj Kumar Verka
    Party : Congress
  • Amritsar Central MLA
    Constituency Number : 17
    District : Amritsar
    MLA from Amritsar Central: Om Parkash Soni
    Party : Congress
  • Amritsar East MLA
    Constituency Number : 18
    District : Amritsar
    MLA from Amritsar East: Navjot Kaur Sidhu
    Party : BJP
  • Amritsar South MLA
    Constituency Number : 19
    District : Amritsar
    MLA from Amritsar South: Inderbir Singh Bularia
    Party : SAD
  • Attari MLA
    Constituency Number : 20
    District : Amritsar
    MLA from Attari: Gulzar Singh Ranike
    Party : SAD

Amritsar MP 2009

The last general elections for 15th Lok Sabha were held in 2009. Navjot Singh Sidhu was elected from Amritsar constituency. He is a member of BJP.

Related Pages:
MP of Punjab
Punjab Vidhan Sabha, Punjab MLA List
Punjab Assembly Constituency List, Vidhan Sabha Halke