MLA from Dirba

The current MLA of Dirba vidhan sabha halka is Sardar Balbir Singh Ghunas, who belongs to SAD. Dirba is one of the 117 assembly constituencies of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 100. It is located in Sangrur district, which is one of the total 22 districts in Punjab. It comes under the Sangrur lok sabha constituency. Here it may be noted that there are 13 lok sabha seats in Punjab. This assembly constituency is reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates. There are total 34 assembly seats in Punjab which are reserved for SC candidates and only a person belonging to SC category can contest elections from these reserved seats.

Voters in Dirba - The total number of voters in Dirba assembly seat is 172340. The election commission has established 185 polling stations and these polling stations are situated at 123 different locations across this assembly segment. For a list of other MLAs from Sangrur district, check the following page:
Sangrur MLA List

Candidate from Dirba 2017

The next assembly elections in Punjab will be held in February 2017. The political parties in Punjab have started declaring the candidates for these elections. We will update this page with the details of candidates from Dirba belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP candiate, BJP and Congress candidates.

AAP Candidate from Dirba : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Harpal Singh Cheema for the coming assembly elections. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate from Dirba : Gulzar Singh will be the Shiromani Akali Dal candidate from this constituency. In 2012 elections, Balbir Singh Ghunas of akali dal was elected as MLA from this seat, but party has not given him ticket from this constituency for the 2017 vidhan sabha elections. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Dirba Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Ajaib Singh Ratol as its MLA candidate from this constituency. In previous assembly elections, he contested from this constituency from Congress ticket but lost to Balbir Singh Ghunas of SAD party. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

Sardar Balbir Singh Ghunas

Sardar Balbir Singh Ghunas is the MLA from Dirba. He is associated with SAD. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the elections held in 2012. He won by a margin of 6874 votes. Ajaib Singh Ratol of Congress was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 17-05-1957 at Jharon, District Sangrur. Name of his father is Sardar Ghula Singh Urf Nahar Singh. The following table shows some more information about him:

Sardar Balbir Singh Ghunas
Father's NameSardar Ghula Singh Urf Nahar Singh
Date of Birth17-05-1957
Place of BirthJharon, District Sangrur
Name of wifeSmt. Baljit Kaur
AddressVPO Ghunas via Tapa Mandi, Distt. Barnala
Educational QualificationPrimary
Study At

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List