Firozpur District (ਫਿਰੋਜ਼ਪੁਰ)

Firozpur is one of the 22 districts of Punjab. The head quarter of this district is the city of same name, that is Firozpur city. According to population, it is at 10th rank amongst 22 districts of Punjab.

History of Firozpur

This will be updated soon.

Geographical position of Firozpur

This will be updated soon.


According to 2011 census, the total population of Firozpur district is 965337. It was 1746107 in 2001. According to these figures, there is a huge decrease in the population from 2001 to 2011. This difference is actually because, a new district Fazilka is created out of Firozpur. As the district Fazilka did not exist when the census was held in 2011, so the total population of Firozpur according to original figures of 2011 is 2029074. This is the figure before the creation of Fazilka.

Towns and Cities In Firozpur

There are total 8 cities and towns in this district. A list of towns and cities is given below:
  1. Firozpur (Municipal Council Class-1)
  2. Guru Harsahai (Municipal Council Class-2)
  3. Talwandi Bhai (Municipal Council Class-2)
  4. Zira (Municipal Council Class-2)
  5. Makhu (Nagar Panchayat)
  6. Mallanwala (Nagar Panchayat)
  7. Mamdot (Nagar Panchayat)
  8. Mudki (Nagar Panchayat)
Which district has minimum and maximum number of cities and towns? To get the answer, check our page about list of cities in Punjab.

Tehsils and Sub-Tehsils

Firozpur district has three tehsils and one sub-tehsil. List of tehsils of Firozpur is given below:
  1. Firozpur ਫਿਰੋਜ਼ਪੁਰ
  2. Guru Harsahai ਗੁਰੂ ਹਰਸਹਾਏ
  3. Zira ਜ਼ੀਰਾ
List of Sub-Tehsils of Firozpur:
  1. Makhu ਮਖੂ
  2. Mamdot ਮਮਦੋਟ
  3. Talwandi Bhai ਤਲਵੰਡੀ ਭਾਈ

Vidhan Sabha Seats in Firozpur

There are total 4 Vidhan Sabha seats in district Firozpur.
  1. Firozpur ਫਿਰੋਜ਼ਪੁਰ
  2. Firozpur Rural ਫਿਰੋਜ਼ਪੁਰ ਦਿਹਾਤੀ
  3. Guru Harsahai ਗੁਰੂ ਹਰਸਹਾਏ
  4. Zira ਜ਼ੀਰਾ

Blocks of Distrcit Firozpur

The villages of the district are divided into 6 development blocks. The list of blocks is given below:
  1. Firozpur ਫਿਰੋਜ਼ਪੁਰ
  2. Ghall Khurd ਘੱਲ ਖੁਰਦ
  3. Guru Harsahai ਗੁਰੂ ਹਰਸਹਾਏ
  4. Makhu ਮਖੂ
  5. Mamdot ਮਮਦੋਟ
  6. Zira ਜ਼ੀਰਾ

MLA from Firozpur

In last assembly elections held in 2012, out of total 4 MLA from Firozpur, 2 MLAs are from ruling Shiromain Akali Dal (SAD) and 2 belongs to Congress. The list of MLAs from Firozpur elected in 2012 elections is given below:
  1. Parminder Singh Pinki elected from Firozpur. He belongs to Congress.
  2. Joginder Singh is MLA frm Firozpur Rural and belongs to SAD.
  3. Rana Gurmit Singh Sodhi elected from Guru Harsahai on Congress ticket.
  4. Hari Singh is the MLA from Zira. He belongs to ruling SAD.
For more details, check this page - Firozpur MLA List

Market Committees in Firozpur

There are total eight market committees in Firozpur.
  1. Firozpur
  2. Firozpur Cantt.
  3. Guru Harsahai
  4. Makhu
  5. Mallanwala
  6. Mamdot
  7. Talwandi Bhai
  8. Zira