Gurdaspur District (ਗੁਰਦਾਸਪੁਰ)

Gurdaspur is one of the 22 districts of Punjab. The head quarter of this district is the city of same name, that is Gurdaspur city. According to population, this is the 6th largest district of Punjab.

History of Gurdaspur

The name of Gurdaspur is based on the name a saintly man named Sri Guria Ji. Guria Ji purchased a village and named it as Gurdaspur. This family came from village Gurdaspur Bhaian. The district came into existence during the british rule on 1st May, 1852.

Suggested Reading:

Geographical position of Gurdaspur

It has its boundaries common with district Pathankot in the North and Amritsar in the South-West. River Beas saperate it from Kapurthala in the South and Hoshiarpur in the South-West. River Ravi saperates it from Pakistan.
The district headquarter of Gurdaspur is the city of the same name. It is situated on Amritsar-Pathankot railway line and National Highway no.15 at a distance of 71 kms from Amritsar and 36 kms from Pathankot.


According to 2011 census, the total population of Gurdaspur district is 1621725. It was 2103455 in 2001. These figures show that population has decreased sharply. The reason is that a new district Pathankot was created out of Gurdaspur. According to census held in 2011, the original population of Gurdaspur before the creation of Pathankot was 2298323.

Towns and Cities In Gurdaspur

There are total 8 cities and towns in this district. A list of towns and cities is given below:
  1. Batala (Municipal Council Class-1)
  2. Gurdaspur (Municipal Council Class-1)
  3. Dhariwal (Municipal Council Class-2)
  4. Dina Nagar (Municipal Council Class-2)
  5. Dera Baba Nanak (Municipal Council Class-3)
  6. Fatehgarh Churian (Municipal Council Class-3)
  7. Qadian (Municipal Council Class-3)
  8. Sri Hargobindpur (Municipal Council Class-3)
Which district has minimum and maximum number of cities and towns? To get the answer, check our page about list of cities in Punjab.

Tehsils and Sub-Tehsils

Gurdaspur district has five tehsils and six sub-tehsils. List of tehsils of Gurdaspur is given below:
  1. Batala ਬਟਾਲਾ
  2. Dera Baba Nanak ਡੇਰਾ ਬਾਬਾ ਨਾਨਕ
  3. Dina Nagar ਦੀਨਾ ਨਗਰ
  4. Gurdaspur ਗੁਰਦਾਸਪੁਰ
  5. Kalanaur ਕਲਾਨੌਰ
List of Sub-Tehsils of Gurdaspur:
  1. Dhariwal ਧਾਰੀਵਾਲ
  2. Fatehgarh Churian ਫਤਿਹਗੜ੍ਹ ਚੂੜੀਆਂ
  3. Kahnuwan ਕਾਹਨੂੰਵਾਨ
  4. Naushehra Majha Singh ਨੌਸ਼ਹਿਰਾ ਮੱਝਾ ਸਿੰਘ
  5. Qadian ਕਾਦੀਆਂ
  6. Sri Hargobindpur ਸ਼੍ਰੀ ਹਰਗੋਬਿੰਦਪੁਰ

Vidhan Sabha seats in Gurdaspur

There are total 7 Vidhan Sabha seats in district Gurdaspur.
  1. Batala ਬਟਾਲਾ
  2. Dera Baba Nanak ਡੇਰਾ ਬਾਬਾ ਨਾਨਕ
  3. Dina Nagar ਦੀਨਾ ਨਗਰ
  4. Fatehgarh Churian ਫਤਿਹਗੜ੍ਹ ਚੂੜੀਆਂ
  5. Gurdaspur ਗੁਰਦਾਸਪੁਰ
  6. Qadian ਕਾਦੀਆਂ
  7. Sri Hargobindpur ਸ਼੍ਰੀ ਹਰਗੋਬਿੰਦਪੁਰ

Blocks of Distrcit Gurdaspur

The villages of the district are divided into 11 development blocks. The list of blocks is given below:
  1. Batala ਬਟਾਲਾ
  2. Dera Baba Nanak ਡੇਰਾ ਬਾਬਾ ਨਾਨਕ
  3. Dhariwal ਧਾਰੀਵਾਲ
  4. Dina Nagar ਦੀਨਾ ਨਗਰ
  5. Dorangla ਦੋਰਾਂਗਲਾ
  6. Fatehgarh Churian ਫਤਿਹਗੜ੍ਹ ਚੂੜੀਆਂ
  7. Gurdaspur ਗੁਰਦਾਸਪੁਰ
  8. Kahnuwan ਕਾਹਨੂੰਵਾਨ
  9. Kalanaur ਕਲਾਨੌਰ
  10. Qadian ਕਾਦੀਆਂ
  11. Sri Hargobindpur ਸ਼੍ਰੀ ਹਰਗੋਬਿੰਦਪੁਰ

MLAs from Gurdaspur

In last assembly elections held in 2012, out of total 7 MLAs from Gurdaspur, only 2 belongs to ruling Shiromani Akali Dal. The rest 5 belongs to opposition Congress party. The list of MLAs from Gurdaspur elected in 2012 elections is given below:
  1. Ashwani Sekhri of Congress won from Batala constituency.
  2. Sukhjinder Singh Randawa is Congress MLA from Dera Baba Nanak.
  3. Aruna Chaudhary of Congress is elected from Dina Nagar.
  4. Tripat Rajinder Singh Bajwa elected from Fatehgarh Churian. He belongs to Congress.
  5. Gurbachan Singh Babbehali elected from Gurdaspur. He belongs to SAD.
  6. Charanjit Kaur Bajwa of Congress is MLA from Qadian.
  7. Des Raj Dhugga of SAD is elected from Sri Hargobindpur.
For more details, check this page - Gurdaspur MLA List

Market Committees in Gurdaspur

There are total 10 market committees in Gurdaspur district.
  1. Batala
  2. Dera Baba Nanak
  3. Dhariwal
  4. Dina Nagar
  5. Fatehgarh Churian
  6. Gurdaspur
  7. Kahnuwan
  8. Kalanaur
  9. Qadian
  10. Sri Hargobindpur