Patiala District (ਪਟਿਆਲਾ)

Patiala is one of the 22 districts of Punjab. The headquarter of this district is the city of same name, that is Patiala city. It is famous for its reputed educational institutions like Punjabi University, Thapar University, Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Government Medical College etc. According to population, this is the fourth largest district of Punjab. The name is made of two words Patti + Ala i.e. Area of Ala (read Baba Ala Singh).

History of Patiala

In 1763, Baba Ala Singh founded the Patiala city. He belonged to Phulkian dynasty of Punjab. He created a stable state with Patiala as its head quarter. During the British rule in India, the princely state of Patiala came under British protection. Patiala became a district in 1919. After the independence of India, India government took over the rule of Patiala in 1948 and it was no longer a princely state. The current head of royal family of Patial is Captain Amrinder singh who was also the chief minister of Punjab from 2002 to 2007. He is the current MLA from Patiala constituency.

Geographical position of Patiala

Patial district shares its boundry with Fatehgarh Sahib district on North, touches Jind (Haryana) in the south and Ambala (Haryana) in the east direction, Sangrur district on west side and district Mohali (SAS Nagar) in the north-east direction. The district headquarter is the city with the same name, which is located on Ambala-Bathinda railway line at a distance of 54km from Ambala and 148km from Sangrur.


According to 2011 census, the total population of Patiala district is 1895686. It was 1584780 in 2001.

Towns and Cities In Patiala

There are total 9 cities and towns in this district. A list of towns and cities is given below:
  1. Patiala (Municipal Corporation)
  2. Nabha (Municipal Council Class-1)
  3. Rajpura (Municipal Council Class-1)
  4. Patran (Municipal Council Class-2)
  5. Samana (Municipal Council Class-2)
  6. Sanaur (Municipal Council Class-3)
  7. Bhadson (Nagar Panchayat)
  8. Ghagga (Nagar Panchayat)
  9. Ghanaur (Nagar Panchayat)
Which district has minimum and maximum number of cities and towns? To get the answer, check our page about list of cities in Punjab.

Tehsils and Sub-Tehsils

Patiala district has six tehsils and two sub-tehsils. List of tehsils of Patiala is given below:
  1. Dudhan Sadhan
  2. Nabha
  3. Patiala
  4. Patran
  5. Rajpura
  6. Samana
List of Sub-Tehsils of Patiala:
  1. Bhadson
  2. Ghanaur

Assembly Constituencies in Patiala

There are total 8 constituencies in district Patiala.
  1. Nabha
  2. Patiala Rural
  3. Rajpura
  4. Ghanaur
  5. Sanaur
  6. Patiala
  7. Samana
  8. Shutrana

Blocks of Patiala

The district is divided into 8 development blocks. The list of blocks is given below:
  1. Bhunerheri
  2. Ghanaur
  3. Nabha
  4. Patiala
  5. Patran
  6. Rajpura
  7. Samana
  8. Sanaur

MLA from Patiala

In last assembly elections held in 2012, out of total 8 assembly seats in Patiala, Congress won from 6 seats and ruling SAD won 3 seats. It has always been a strong hold of Congress party. The list of MLAs from Patiala elected in 2012 elections is given below:
  1. Sadhu Singh Dharamsot (Congress) elected from Nabha constituency.
  2. Brahm Mohindra (Congress) elected from Patiala Rural constituency.
  3. Hardial Singh Kamboj (Congress) elected from Rajpura constituency.
  4. Harpreet Kaur Mukhmailpur (SAD) elected from Ghanaur constituency.
  5. Lal Singh (Congress) elected from Sanaur constituency.
  6. Captain Amrinder Singh (Congress) elected from Patiala constituency.
  7. Surjit Singh Rakhra (SAD) elected from Samana constituency.
  8. Vaninder Kaur Loomba (SAD) elected from Shutrana constituency.
For more details, check this page - Patiala MLA List

Market Committees in Patiala

There are total nine market commitees in Patiala district.
  1. Bhadson
  2. Dakala
  3. Dudhan Sadhan
  4. Ghanaur
  5. Nabha
  6. Patiala
  7. Patran
  8. Rajpura
  9. Samana